Josef Newgarden fastest in final IndyCar practice session at Sonoma

Getty Images

Josef Newgarden was quickest in the final Verizon IndyCar Series practice session for this afternoon’s GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma at Sonoma Raceway.

Newgarden had a field-best elapsed time of 1:17.6431 and speed of 110.583 mph.

Scott Dixon, whose reign as 2015 series champion comes to an end today, made a strong run in the closing minutes to record the second-best effort (1:17.6600 at 110.559), followed by Takuma Sato (1:18.1803 at 109.823), Charlie Kimball (1:18.1921 at 109.806) and Alexander Rossi (1:18.2923 at 109.666).

Pole-sitter Simon Pagenaud (1:18.8396 at 108.905) and sole championship challenger Will Power (1:19.0236 at 108.651) were 18th and 20th quickest, but there are no worries there.

They were simply shaking their cars down in preparation for this afternoon’s race, which begins at 6:50 p.m. ET/3:50 p.m. PT. The race will be televised live on NBCSN, which begins with pre-race coverage at 6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT.

Marco Andretti, who was quickest and fastest in Saturday’s third practice, was 13th in Sunday’s final session (1:18.6141 at 109.217 mph)

Conor Daly was slowest of the 22 drivers on-track (1:19.0374 at 108.632).

Here’s how the final practice session played out: