Red Bull GRC: Foust back on top in Seattle

Photo: Larry Chen/Red Bull Content Pool
1 Comment

The pendulum swung back to Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross’ Tanner Foust in the ninth round of Red Bull Global Rallycross’ 2016 season, with Foust scoring his fourth win of the year and first since Daytona race two back in mid-June.

Foust, driver of the No. 34 Rockstar Energy Drink Volkswagen Beetle GRC, dominated the series’ return to Seattle, now racing at Evergreen Speedway rather than at DirtFish as it was in the past.

Foust has also retaken the lead in the championship from Scott Speed in the process. Speed, Foust’s teammate, had won the last three races but finished fourth in the Supercar final today. Speed entered the race with a nine-point lead, 409-400.

The two drivers that split the Andretti teammates were the pair of Honda Civic Coupe drivers, Sebastian Eriksson and Joni Wiman, who brought the Honda Red Bull Olsbergs MSE its first double podium of the season and the first double podium for the new Hondas, which premiered earlier this year.

Steve Arpin brought the No. 00 ENEOS Ford Fiesta ST to fifth, as Chip Ganassi Rallycross secured a top-five finish with one of its two cars here in one of the team’s six series, 14-car effort across the country this weekend.

Meanwhile in sixth, past Subaru World Rally Team factory ace Chris Atkinson brought Subaru Rally Team USA easily its best finish of the year.

Brian Deegan, Nelson Piquet Jr., David Higgins and Austin Dyne completed the top 10 in the Supercar final.

The season finale is back to a doubleheader weekend at Los Angeles, Oct. 8-9. Both races will air on Sunday, Oct. 9, on NBC at 3 p.m. ET.

NEOM McLaren Formula E announces Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast for 2023 season

McLaren Formula E Hughes
McLaren Racing

Doubling down on their commitment to electric auto sports, McLaren Racing announced Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast to compete in the 2023 Formula E Series (FE), which completes their driver lineup.

The NEOM McLaren FE team was formed by the acquisition of the Mercedes-EQ Formula E team that won the 2021 and 2022 championships with Stoffel Vandoorne and Nyck de Vries behind the wheel.

“Today’s announcement feels like a long time coming,” said Ian James, managing director of NEOM McLaren Electric Racing in a release. “Since May this year, when we first announced McLaren Racing’s entry into Formula E, we have been working tirelessly to get in place the best possible team and structure for sustainable success.

“On the one hand, we have been working on the retention of the amazing talent that already was in place before going into the transitional phase. I’m proud to say I think we’ve done a great job on that front.

“On the other hand, we have been focusing on putting in place new processes and new talent – and the latter includes the drivers.”

The driver lineup clasps the two hands together.

Hughes brings 10 years racing experience in single seater cars, including a role with the acquired Mercedes-EQ team as a reserve and development driver for the past two seasons. He is the 2013 BRDC Formula 4 champion and has multiple wins in Formula 2, including two in 2020.

Announced in August, Rast joins the team after earning two podium finishes and six top-fives in 22 career Formula E starts for Audi Sport ABT before returning to the DTM Series last year. Rast’s best finish in Formula E came in the Puebla E Prix when he finished second to teammate Lucas di Grassi by less than a half second.

McLaren’s commitment to Formula E comes one year after they entered the Extreme E rally series in 2022 with Tanner Foust and Emma Gilmour in the driver lineup. After a modest start to the season, the McLaren XE drivers crossed the finish line first in Round 4 in Chile, but were assessed a time penalty that dropped them to fifth. Last week in the season finale in Uruguay, they held onto a hard-earned second place finish.