The “jawn” is gone: Tomas Scheckter announces he’s done racing

Getty Images

Tomas Scheckter turns 36 today and this is the point where we note the South African driver was often the price of admission on his own for his IndyCar career, which lasted from 2002 through 2011.

Scheckter debuted with Eddie Cheever’s team in 2002 and quickly rankled the establishment with his speed, aggression, and take-no-prisoners mentality. He probably should have won that year’s Indianapolis 500 but crashed out in Turn 4.

He then moved to Chip Ganassi Racing for 2003 after Cheever let him go in 2002, after scoring his first win at Michigan. A pair of somewhat fruitless seasons followed, first with Ganassi and then in 2004 with Panther Racing, before Scheckter returned to victory lane at Texas in 2005 – delivering both his and Panther’s final victory in the series.

Two more full-time campaigns with Vision Racing in 2006 and 2007 followed before Scheckter bounced around part-time for the next four years, primarily on ovals, and giving it his all with his high-line style every time he got in the car. If you remember Mona-Vie or REDLINE on an IndyCar, then you remember Scheckter was the one driving it.

You’re probably wondering then, why is this historical piece on Scheckter’s career, which hadn’t really restarted since 2011, being posted today, on Sept. 21, 2016?

It’s because Scheckter – who popularized the word “jawn” the last several years, essentially a four-letter word describing anything and everything without actually meaning something – has officially called time on his racing career.

When a fan asked today whether we’d ever see Scheckter back in a car, his answer was a definitive “no.”

Conor Daly, who never had the opportunity to race against Scheckter in IndyCar but watched him growing up, simply responded, “hero.”

Scheckter was certainly a character in his time in IndyCar and there really hasn’t been someone of his ilk since, especially someone who made restarts that jaw-dropping.

Tony Kanaan and Ryan Hunter-Reay are probably the gold standard for starts/restarts among the current crop of competitors but watching a “T-Scheck” start or restart in his heyday was something to behold.

Anyway, the IndyCar numbers: 118 starts, two wins, 18 top-fives, 44 top-10s and an unlimited amount of “jawn.”

We didn’t think a comeback was really on the cards for the son of 1979 World Champion Jody, but this news confirms it.

Ride that high line, “T-Scheck.” Ride high.

Supercross 2023: Results and points after Seattle


The final results from the Monster Energy Supercross race in Seattle suggests the season is turning into a two-rider battle as Eli Tomac scored his sixth win of the season to tie Cooper Webb for the points’ lead and Chase Sexton crashed in yet another race.

Tomac downplayed the neck strain that caused him to lose the red plate for two weeks, but without that holding him back, it would appear it might have been a bigger problem than he admitted. Despite finishing on the podium in Detroit, Tomac has not shown the late-race strength everyone has come to expect. He was in a slump after scoring a season-worst in Indianapolis and described his sixth win as a “bounce back”.

With this win, Tomac tied James Stewart for second on the all-time list with 50 career Supercross victories. Six rounds remain and there is no sign that Tomac is slowing down. Jeremy McGrath’s 72 wins remains untouchable, for the moment at least.

RESULTS: Click here for full 450 Overall Results; Click here for 250 Overall Results

Cooper Webb was disappointed with second-place, but he recognized the Supercross results at Seattle could have been much worse. He rode in fifth for the first nine laps of the race, behind Tomac and Sexton. When Sexton crashed from the lead and Tomac took the top spot, Webb knew he could not afford to give up that many points and so he dug deep and found enough points to share the red plate when the series returns in two weeks in Glendale, Arizona for a Triple Crown event.

Justin Barcia scored his third podium of the season, breaking out of a threeway tie of riders who have not been the presumed favorites to win the championship. Barcia scored the podium without drama or controversy. It was his fourth consecutive top-five and his 10th straight finish of eighth or better.

Click here for 450 Heat 1 | Heat 2 | Last Chance Qualifier | Lap Chart

Jason Anderson kept his perfect record of top-10s alive with a fourth-place finish. Tied for fourth in the standings and 49 out of the lead, his season has been like a death of a thousand cuts. He’s ridden exceptionally well, but the Big Three have simply been better.

Sexton rebounded from his fall to finish fifth. He entered the race 17 points out of the lead and lost another five in Seattle. Mistakes have cost Sexton 22 points in the last three races and that is precisely how far he is behind Tomac and Webb. Unless those two riders bobble, this deficit cannot overcome.

The rider who ties Anderson for fourth in the points, Ken Roczen finished just outside the top five in sixth after he battled for a podium position early in the race.

Click here for 450 Overall results | Rider Points | Manufacturer Points

The 250 West riders got back in action after four rounds of sitting on the sideline and Jett Lawrence picked up where he left of: in Victory Lane. Lawrence now has four wins and a second-place finish in five rounds. One simply doesn’t get close to perfection than that.

Between them, the Lawrence brothers have won all but two races though 11 rounds. Jett failed to win the Anaheim Triple Crown and Hunter Lawrence failed to win the Arlington Triple Crown format in the 250 East division. In two weeks, the series has their final Triple Crown race in Glendale. When he was reminded of this from the top of the Seattle podium, Jett replied, “oof”.

Click here for 250 Heat 1 | Heat 2 | Last Chance Qualifier | Lap Chart

RJ Hampshire finished second in the race and is second in the points. This is fourth time in five rounds that Hampshire finished second to Lawrence. If not for a crash-induced 11th-place finish in the Arlington Triple Crown, he would be much closer in the points standings. With that poor showing, he is 23 points behind Lawrence.

Cameron McAdoo made a lot of noise in his heat. Riding aggressively beside Larwence, the two crashed in the preliminary. McAdoo could never seem to get away from Hampshire in the Main and as the two battled, the leader got away. It would have been interesting to see how they would have raced head-to-head when points were on the line.

Click here for 250 Overall results | 250 West Rider Points | 250 Combined Rider Points

The Supercross results in Seattle were kind to a couple of riders on the cusp of the top five. Enzo Lopes scored his second top-five and fourth top-10 of the season after crossing the finish line fourth in Seattle.

Tying his best finish of the season for the third time, Max Vohland kept his perfect record of top-10s alive. Vohland is seventh in the points.

2023 Results

Round 11: Eli Tomac bounces back with sixth win
Round 10: Chace Sexton wins, penalized
Round 9: Ken Roczen wins
Round 8: Eli Tomac wins 7th Daytona
Round 7: Cooper Webb wins second race
Race 6: Eli Tomac, Jett Lawrence win
Race 5: Webb, Hunter Lawrence win
Race 4: Tomac, H Lawrence win
Race 3: Chase Sexton, Levi Kitchen win
Race 2: Tomac, J Lawrence win
Round 1: Tomac, J Lawrence win

2023 SuperMotocross Power Rankings

Week 10: Chase Sexton leads with consistency
Week 8: Chase Sexton unseats Eli Tomac
Week 7: Jason Anderson narrowly trails Tomac
Week 6: Perfect Oakland night keeps Tomac first
Week 5: Cooper Webb, Sexton close gap
Week 4: Tomac retakes lead
Week 3: Ken Roczen takes the top spot
Week 2: Roczen moves up; Sexton falls
Week 1: Tomac tops 450s; Jett Lawrence 250s