Photo courtesy of IMSA

IMSA’s Petit Le Mans entry list features usual bevy of guest stars

Leave a comment

Next week’s Petit Le Mans presented by Harrah’s Cherokee Casino Resort, on Saturday, Oct. 1, will again feature a number of usual guest stars among the 37 cars entered (9 P, 6 PC, 10 GTLM, 12 GTD).

There’s a number of IndyCar drivers making the trip to Petit Le Mans, including the following:

  • Simon Pagenaud, No. 31 Action Express Racing Corvette DP
  • Spencer Pigot, Nos. 55 and 70 Mazda
  • Ryan Hunter-Reay, No. 90 Visit Florida Racing Corvette DP
  • Sebastien Bourdais, No. 66 Ford Chip Ganassi Racing Ford GT
  • Scott Dixon, No. 67 Ford Chip Ganassi Racing Ford GT

Tequila Patron ESM is back with Pipo Derani, Scott Sharp and Johannes van Overbeek as that trio looks to win their third endurance race in four Tequila Patron North American Endurance Cup races in the No. 2 Ligier JS P2 Honda, the last race for that car combination before the team’s new DPi program in 2017.

Additionally, the Scuderia Corsa Ferrari F488 GTE is back with Daniel Serra, Alessandro Pier Guidi and Andrea Bertolini. James Calado is third driver with Risi, an interesting move there.

Some of the other notable third drivers include:

  • Andy Meyrick, No. 0 DeltaWing
  • Filipe Albuquerque, No. 5 Action Express Racing Corvette DP
  • Max Angelelli, No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Corvette DP
  • Olivier Pla, No. 60 Michael Shank Racing Ligier JS P2 Honda
  • David Heinemeier Hansson, No. 8 Starworks Motorsport Oreca FLM09
  • Kenton Koch, No. 38 Performance Tech Motorsports Oreca FLM09 (class points leader for TPNAEC)
  • Max Hanratty, No. 88 Starworks Motorsport Oreca FLM09 (series debut)
  • Mike Rockenfeller & Marcel Fassler, Nos. 3 and 4 Corvette C7.R
  • Augusto Farfus & Kuno Wittmer, Nos. 25 and 100 BMW Team RLL BMW M6 GTLM
  • James Calado, No. 62 Risi Competizione Ferrari 488 GTE
  • Mike Skeen & Dion von Moltke, Nos. 6 and 9 Stevenson Motorsports Audi R8 LMS
  • Richard Antinucci, No. 16 Change Racing Lamborghini Huracán GT3
  • Ian James, No. 23 The Heart of Racing Porsche 911 GT3 R
  • Marc Miller, No. 33 Riley Motorsports Dodge Viper GT3-R
  • Marco Seefried, No. 44 Magnus Racing Audi R8 LMS
  • Bryce Miller, No. 48 Paul Miller Racing Lamborghini Huracán GT3
  • Jeff Segal, No. 63 Scuderia Corsa Ferrari 488 GT3
  • Matt McMurry, No. 73 Park Place Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R
  • Ashley Freiberg, No. 96 Turner Motorsport BMW M6 GT3

There’s still a handful of TBDs.

Track activity begins Thursday, Sept. 29, for the final IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship race of the season.

A full entry list is linked here.

Steve Torrence takes NHRA points lead with Gatornationals victory

NHRA Gainesville Steve Torrence
Jeff Robinson/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images
Leave a comment

GAINESVILLE, Fla. — Two-time defending NHRA Top Fuel champion Steve Torrence took the points lead Sunday in the AMALIE Motor Oil Gatornationals, beating his father, Billy, in the final round at Gainesville Raceway.

Torrence had a 3.809-second run at 322.11 mph to win for the third time this year and 39th overall. He is now on track for another championship despite missing the season opener.

“We’ve got some good momentum and to be in the points lead, it’s a testament to how hard these guys work,” Steve Torrence said after the NHRA Gainesville victory. “We’ve just got to stay focused and concentrate on what the task at hand is, and that’s trying to win a championship. These guys give me an unbelievable race car and you just try not to screw it up.”

Ron Capps won in Funny Car, Alex Laughlin in Pro Stock and Matt Smith in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Capps raced to his second win this year and 66th overall, beating Tim Wilkerson with a 3.937 at 323.12 in a Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat.

Laughlin topped Aaron Stanfield with a 7.068 at 204.76 in a Chevrolet Camaro for his first win this season and fourth in his career. Smith rode to his first victory in 2020 and 25th overall, topping Andrew Hines with a 6.843 at 196.99 on an EBR.