Here are your Malaysian Grand Prix times this weekend

0 Comments

The Malaysian Grand Prix runs this weekend, now shifting to October after its usual early season run for the past 15 years since 2001.

Here are the pertinent times and details for the weekend on NBCSN and the NBC Sports App.

NBC Sports Group’s presentation of the 2016 Formula One season continues this weekend with comprehensive live coverage of the Malaysian Grand Prix, culminating in Grand Prix racing on Sunday at 2:30 a.m. ET/Saturday at 11:30 p.m. PT on NBCSN.

In addition to this weekend’s F1 coverage, NBC Sports Group continues its coverage of the NASCAR Chase for the Sprint Cup with live coverage from Dover International Speedway on Saturday and Sunday on NBCSN.

Mercedes teammate Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton continue their battle atop the driver standings heading into Malaysia this weekend. Rosberg currently leads with 273 points, with defending champion Lewis Hamilton close behind with 265 points. Rosberg surpassed Hamilton with his win in Singapore on Sept. 18, coupled with a third-place finish by Hamilton.

Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel, currently fourth in the driver standings with 153 points, boasts four career Malaysian Grand Prix victories, including last year’s race. Hamilton took the checkered flag in Malaysia in 2014.

Live coverage begins exclusively on NBCSports.com and the NBC Sports app tonight at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT with Practice 1, followed by NBCSN’s live coverage of Practice 2 on Friday morning at 2:30 a.m. ET/Thursday at 11:30 p.m. PT. Streaming coverage on NBCSports.com and the NBC Sports app continues with Practice 3 on Saturday morning at 2 a.m. ET/Friday night at 11 p.m. PT, and live qualifying on Saturday at 5 a.m. ET/2 a.m. PT.

Live Malaysian Grand Prix race coverage begins Sunday morning at 2 a.m. ET/Saturday at 11 p.m. PT on NBCSN with F1 Countdown, and is followed by F1 Extra at 5 a.m. ET/2 a.m. PT.

Lead play-by-play announcer Leigh Diffey will call this weekend’s action, and will be joined by veteran analyst and former racecar driver David Hobbs, and analyst and former race mechanic for the Benetton F1 team Steve Matchett. Townsend Bell will serve as the on-site reporter in Malaysia.

DATE COVERAGE TIME (ET) NETWORK
Thurs., Sept. 29 F1 Malaysian Grand Prix – Practice 1 10 p.m. Streaming
Fri., Sept. 30 F1 Malaysian Grand Prix – Practice 2 2 a.m. NBCSN
Sat., Oct. 1 F1 Malaysian Grand Prix – Practice 3 2 a.m. Streaming
F1 Malaysian Grand Prix – Qualifying 5 a.m. NBCSN
Sun., Oct. 2 F1 Countdown 2 a.m. NBCSN
F1 Malaysian Grand Prix 2:30 a.m. NBCSN
F1 Extra 5 a.m. NBCSN
F1 Malaysian Grand Prix (Encore) 8 p.m. NBCSN