Rosberg ‘thought it was all over’ after Vettel clash at Turn 1

© Getty Images
1 Comment

Nico Rosberg conceded that he “thought it was all over” after being hit by Sebastian Vettel on the first lap of Sunday’s Malaysian Grand Prix, before going on to extend his lead in the Formula 1 drivers’ championship.

Rosberg started second at Sepang on Sunday, but looked set to lose his eight-point lead in the title race after being clouted by Vettel at the first corner.

With Mercedes teammate and title rival Lewis Hamilton leading the pack and seemingly bound for victory, Rosberg picked his way through the field to recover to fourth place with 16 laps to go.

On lap 40, Hamilton’s engine failed and caught fire, forcing the Briton to park up and retire from the race, his title hopes going up in smoke before his eyes.

Rosberg was able to keep calm in the closing stages despite getting a 10-second time penalty for contact with Kimi Raikkonen and finish the race third.

“Turn 1, I thought it was all over,” Rosberg admitted.

“I’m really happy to have been able to fight back in such a way all the way to the podium, that’s been great.

“Apart from that, in general, I wished for a better day today, but that’s the way it is sometimes.”

Rosberg’s championship lead now stands at 23 points with five races remaining, but the German will not let up in his bid for a maiden F1 title in 2016.

“It’s a good moment in general,” Rosberg said.

“Looking forward now to the next one, full attack.”

X44 Racing win 2022 Extreme E championship as Abt Cupra score first race victory

2022 Extreme E Uruguay
Extreme E

Abt Cupra Racing’s Nasser Al-Attiyah and Klara Andersson scored their first win in the Extreme E Energy X Prix in the 2022 finale in Uruguay as Lewis Hamilton’s X44 Vida Carbon Racing drivers Sebastien Loeb and Cristina Gutierrez survived a chaotic finale to edge the 2021 champion Rosberg X Prix team of Johan Kristoffersson and Mikhaela Ahlin-Kottulinsky, by two points.

“There are so many emotions,” Andersson said in Extreme E’s coverage. “I’ve been waiting for this for so long. In my second race, first full weekend to be at the top of the podium: it’s big.”

Andersson was behind the wheel at the finish.

Rosberg Racing entered the event with a 17-point advantage over X44, but the standings were close enough that four teams remained in contention in Round 5.

“It’s a crucial weekend for us,” Loeb said in Extreme E’s coverage prior to the race. “We are not in the best position to win the championship, but the only thing we can do is try to win the race and score as many points as possible.”

The top two title contenders each crashed in qualification and were relegated to the Crazy Race, Extreme E’s version of the Last Chance Qualifier (LCQ). For the moment, they had the steepest hill to climb, but then the other two championship contending teams, Chip Ganassi Racing and Acciona Sainz Racing failed to advance from their heats.

Only one team advances from the Crazy Race, so the X44 drivers were in a must-win situation to simply keep hope alive.

More: Extreme E 2023 schedule

Ahlin-Kottulinsky and Gutierrez ran wheel to wheel into the first turn at the start of the LCQ.

The Rosberg racer experienced crash damage in that turn that damaged her front steering, but managed to limp back to the pits at the end of her two-lap stint. The team attempted to fix the steering, but incurred a penalty for having too many mechanics in the pit area.

Meanwhile, Gutierrez took the early lead, but knew she would need to sit through a five-second penalty for an incident earlier in the weekend. The female half of the gender equal pair erased the penalty by entering the Switch Zone with a five-second lead before turning the car over to Loeb.

That was all the nine-time World Rally Championship titlist needed to give him the advantage needed to win the Crazy Race.

But the championship was not over yet. X44 Racing needed to finish third or better in the five-car finale to earn enough points for the title and after advancing from the LCQ, they were forced to take the worst grid position.

A chaotic start to the Finale saw Loeb run as high the lead and low as fourth after getting pushed off course during his first lap. And that is how he entered to Switch Zone.

On her first lap, Gutierrez slammed into Molly Taylor. With one lap remaining, X44 and Gutierrez were still in fourth and the title hope was quickly evaporating, but it was announced halfway through the lap that the third-running Andretti United team would suffer a penalty for a Switch Zone infraction. The seven-second deduction for Timmy Hansen braking too late in the zone made the difference in the title.

Coming off a disappointing Copper X Prix when Tanner Foust and Emma Gilmour crossed under the checkers first, but were relegated to fifth by penalty, the McLaren pair scored their first podium of the season in second.