Here are your Japanese Grand Prix times on NBCSN

0 Comments

The 2016 Formula One campaign rolls into Suzuka Circuit in Japan for the annual running of the Japanese Grand Prix this Sunday at 12:30 a.m. ET/Saturday at 9:30 p.m. PT on NBCSN.

In addition to this weekend’s F1 coverage, NBC Sports Group presents the final race of the 2016 Red Bull Global Rallycross Championship this Sunday at 3 p.m. ET on NBC from Los Angeles, Calif., and NBCSN presents more than 15 hours of Mecum Auctions coverage from their event this weekend in Chicago.

NBCSports.com and the NBC Sports app will provide streaming coverage of this weekend’s motorsports events.

F1 JAPANESE GRAND PRIX – SUNDAY AT 12:30 A.M. ET/SATURDAY AT 9:30 P.M. ET

Mercedes’ Nico Rosberg hopes to increase his lead in the championship standings this weekend over teammate and rival Lewis Hamilton in Japan. Rosberg finished third at last weekend’s Malaysian Grand Prix, which featured a 1-2 finish for Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo and Max Verstappen, but he was able to gain ground on Hamilton, who was forced to retire with 17 laps remaining due to an engine failure. Rosberg now leads Hamilton by 23 points in the standings with five races remaining on the schedule.

Rosberg captured the pole position at Suzuka last year, but Hamilton took the checkered flag, his third career Japanese Grand Prix victory.

Live coverage begins exclusively on NBCSports.com and the NBC Sports app tonight at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT with Practice 1, followed by NBCSN’s live coverage of Practice 2 on Friday morning at 1 a.m. ET/Thursday at 10 p.m. PT. Streaming coverage on NBCSports.com and the NBC Sports app continues with Practice 3 on Friday night at 11 p.m. ET/8 p.m. PT, and live qualifying on Saturday at 2 a.m. ET/Friday night at11 p.m. PT.

Live Japanese Grand Prix race coverage begins Sunday morning at 12 a.m. ET/Saturday at 9 p.m. PT on NBCSN with F1 Countdown, and is followed by F1 Extra at 3 a.m. ET/12 a.m. PT.

Lead play-by-play announcer Leigh Diffey will call this weekend’s action, and will be joined by veteran analyst and former racecar driver David Hobbs, and analyst and former race mechanic for the Benetton F1 team Steve Matchett. F1 insider Will Buxton will report on-site from Suzuka Circuit.

Here’s the times:

Following is this week’s NBC Sports Group motorsports coverage schedule:

DATE COVERAGE TIME (ET) NETWORK
Thurs., Oct. 6 F1 Japanese Grand Prix – Practice 1 9 p.m. Streaming
Fri., Oct. 7 F1 Japanese Grand Prix – Practice 2 1 a.m. NBCSN
F1 Japanese Grand Prix – Practice 3 11 p.m. Streaming
Sat., Oct. 8 F1 Japanese Grand Prix – Qualifying 2 a.m. NBCSN
Sun., Oct. 9 F1 Countdown 12 a.m. NBCSN
F1 Japanese Grand Prix 12:30 a.m. NBCSN
F1 Extra 3 a.m. NBCSN
F1 Japanese Grand Prix (Encore) 7 p.m. NBCSN

X44 Racing win 2022 Extreme E championship as Abt Cupra score first race victory

2022 Extreme E Uruguay
Extreme E
0 Comments

Abt Cupra Racing’s Nasser Al-Attiyah and Klara Andersson scored their first win in the Extreme E Energy X Prix in the 2022 finale in Uruguay as Lewis Hamilton’s X44 Vida Carbon Racing drivers Sebastien Loeb and Cristina Gutierrez survived a chaotic finale to edge the 2021 champion Rosberg X Prix team of Johan Kristoffersson and Mikhaela Ahlin-Kottulinsky, by two points.

“There are so many emotions,” Andersson said in Extreme E’s coverage. “I’ve been waiting for this for so long. In my second race, first full weekend to be at the top of the podium: it’s big.”

Andersson was behind the wheel at the finish.

Rosberg Racing entered the event with a 17-point advantage over X44, but the standings were close enough that four teams remained in contention in Round 5.

“It’s a crucial weekend for us,” Loeb said in Extreme E’s coverage prior to the race. “We are not in the best position to win the championship, but the only thing we can do is try to win the race and score as many points as possible.”

The top two title contenders each crashed in qualification and were relegated to the Crazy Race, Extreme E’s version of the Last Chance Qualifier (LCQ). For the moment, they had the steepest hill to climb, but then the other two championship contending teams, Chip Ganassi Racing and Acciona Sainz Racing failed to advance from their heats.

Only one team advances from the Crazy Race, so the X44 drivers were in a must-win situation to simply keep hope alive.

More: Extreme E 2023 schedule

Ahlin-Kottulinsky and Gutierrez ran wheel to wheel into the first turn at the start of the LCQ.

The Rosberg racer experienced crash damage in that turn that damaged her front steering, but managed to limp back to the pits at the end of her two-lap stint. The team attempted to fix the steering, but incurred a penalty for having too many mechanics in the pit area.

Meanwhile, Gutierrez took the early lead, but knew she would need to sit through a five-second penalty for an incident earlier in the weekend. The female half of the gender equal pair erased the penalty by entering the Switch Zone with a five-second lead before turning the car over to Loeb.

That was all the nine-time World Rally Championship titlist needed to give him the advantage needed to win the Crazy Race.

But the championship was not over yet. X44 Racing needed to finish third or better in the five-car finale to earn enough points for the title and after advancing from the LCQ, they were forced to take the worst grid position.

A chaotic start to the Finale saw Loeb run as high the lead and low as fourth after getting pushed off course during his first lap. And that is how he entered to Switch Zone.

On her first lap, Gutierrez slammed into Molly Taylor. With one lap remaining, X44 and Gutierrez were still in fourth and the title hope was quickly evaporating, but it was announced halfway through the lap that the third-running Andretti United team would suffer a penalty for a Switch Zone infraction. The seven-second deduction for Timmy Hansen braking too late in the zone made the difference in the title.

Coming off a disappointing Copper X Prix when Tanner Foust and Emma Gilmour crossed under the checkers first, but were relegated to fifth by penalty, the McLaren pair scored their first podium of the season in second.