Busy weekend of titles clinched: WRC, WRX, DTM champs crowned

Ogier (FIA WRC) won fourth straight title. Photo: Getty Images

Three international series crowned their champions this weekend, with the FIA World Rally Championship, FIA World Rallycross Championship and the DTM series confirming their champs. They’re sort of related.

Here’s quick recaps:

Sebastian Ogier has joined the ranks of four-time champions in WRC, along with Juha Kankkunen and Tommi Makinen. Ogier and co-driver Julien Ingrassia won the Rally of Spain in their Volkswagen Polo R WRC and defeated Dani Sordo/Marc Marti in the process.

For the year, Ogier has won five of 11 completed rallies – no other driver has won more than twice (Kris Meeke two, then Jari-Matti Latvala, Hayden Paddon, Thierry Neuville, Andreas Mikkelsen have one win apiece).

In a funny statistical quirk, Sebastien Ogier’s title also brings the number of consecutive WRC titles won by a driver named Sebastien to 13 in a row, as Sebastien Loeb won nine in a row from 2004 through 2012. Ogier’s four titles, all with Volkswagen, have come in succession since 2013. The last non-Sebastien World Rally Champion was Petter Solberg for Subaru in 2003.

Mattias Ekstrom has won this year’s FIA World Rallycross Championship presented by Monster Energy for Audi, while the winner in Germany this weekend was Kevin Eriksson, son of Olbsergs MSE team owner Andreas Eriksson. There’s one weekend remaining in Argentina, Nov. 26-27. The younger Eriksson’s start was nothing short of mental, as you’ll see below:

Meanwhile, here’s Ekstrom’s celebration, and a release of the 2017 FIA World RX calendar:

Edoardo Mortara (Audi) came up four points short to Marco Wittmann (BMW) in DTM, with Wittmann winning his second DTM title on Sunday in the Hockenheimring. Audi, meanwhile, secured the DTM Manufacturer’s Championship, 700-647, over BMW.

Mortara won five races to Wittmann’s three this year, but Wittmann had slightly better consistency over the course of the year. Wittmann only finished outside the points three times while Mortara was outside the points on five occasions.

Jamie Green, Robert Wickens and Paul di Resta completed the top five in points. Wickens’ season nose-dived in the final three weekends of the year after the Canadian had been in title contention until that point.

Others of note: Ekstrom actually missed the DTM weekend because of his FIA World Rallycross commitments and Rene Rast filled in for him at Audi; this is what forced Will Stevens to fill in for Rast at the FIA World Endurance Championship race in Fuji, where the G-Drive Racing team won in LMP2. Ekstrom finished seventh in points.

Past F1 driver Timo Glock was 10th in points, and fellow Timo – Timo Scheider – announced his retirement at year’s end. Scheider won back-to-back DTM titles in 2008 and 2009.