Photo: Team USA Scholarship

Team USA Scholarship winners’ UK voyage underway

Leave a comment

Newly crowned Team USA Scholarship winners Oliver Askew and Kyle Kirkwood have arrived at Brands Hatch for this week’s Formula Ford Festival, where they participate with Cliff Dempsey Racing against a world of top young competitors. Races are held this weekend for the latest two drivers selected by Jeremy Shaw to receive the scholarships.

The longtime friends out of Orlando have both penned their first two blogs, which you can see below, via the Team USA Scholarship website:

Here’s a few pics on social media from the start of their journey and seat fittings:

They were guests to lead off an episode of Midweek Motorsport, Series 11, Episode 37, which is linked here.

They also managed to catch up with Team Canada Scholarship winner Parker Thompson, who is also competing there this year. Thompson finished second in this year’s Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda standings.

Scott Dixon fastest on the second day of Indianapolis 500 practice

Indy 500 practice Dixon
James Black/IndyCar
Leave a comment

Scott Dixon was fastest on the second day of Indy 500 practice Thursday, turning a lap at 226.102 mph in his No. 9 Dallara-Honda at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Takuma Sato was second, followed by Marco Andretti, Conor Daly and rookie Alex Palou.

The rest of the top 10 were: Colton Herta, Charlie Kimball, James Hinchcliffe, Fernando Alonso and James Davison.

THURSDAY PRACTICE: Click here for Day 2 speeds at Indianapolis

COMBINED SPEEDS: Click here for the overall speeds from the first two days

The session had one incident as Alonso crashed with just less than an hour left in the session. The Arrow McLaren SP driver was optimistic that the car could be repaired without a backup.

Among the other notables on the speed chart Thursday: Ryan Hunter-Reay (11th); Tony Kanaan (14th); Helio Castroneves (16th); Josef Newgarden (18th); Graham Rahal (19th); Will Power (23rd); Alexander Rossi (26th) and defending race winner Simon Pagenaud (27th).

Felix Rosenqvist (24th) and rookie Dalton Kellett turned the most laps (141) around the 2.5-mile oval.

Teams mostly focused on race setup Thursday as they will receive 80 extra horsepower in the “Fast Friday” practice that will feature speeds above 230 mph for qualifying Saturday and Sunday.

The Indy 500 will take place Aug. 23; coverage begins at 1 p.m. ET on NBC with the green flag at 2:30 p.m.

HOW TO WATCH THE INDY 500 ON NBCDetails for the Aug. 23 race

DAILY INDY 500 SCHEDULEClick here for all on-track activity in August at Indy