Getty Images

Jordan Taylor’s latest social media brilliance: “Super fan” selfies

Leave a comment

Jordan Taylor isn’t just a badass race car driver, but also an innovator and pioneer on social media.

The guy who’s given us “the mullet,” music videos such as “Jordan loves stickers,” “JT Facials” on airplanes and various stories about the people he’s sitting next to, and alter egos such as “Burt Middleston,” has now delivered his latest gift to the world: “Rodney Sandstorm” the photographer, “Super fan.”

Those who have followed Taylor on social media know he’s been getting a brief introduction to the world of photography via learning and following his Snapchat nemesis and ace photographer, Jamey Price. So he’s starting to get the hang of the camera.

But now, during the first of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship’s two-day test at Daytona International Speedway, Taylor went “undercover” to pose for selfies with unsuspecting drivers.

Watch as Andy Lally (Acura), Lawson Aschenbach (Audi), Mark Wilkins, Tom Dyer and Mike Shank (Acura), Bryan Sellers (Lamborghini), Bill Auberlen (BMW), Scott Pruett (Lexus) and Ozz Negri (Acura) were all caught slightly off guard… until they realized who was behind the sunglasses, jean shorts and oversized hat. Negri’s reaction in particular was priceless.

The reason he wasn’t testing is because his Wayne Taylor Racing team can’t officially confirm what they’re running until their longtime manufacturer partner, GM, formally confirms the presence and launches its new Daytona Prototype international (DPi) model.

Obviously, there were cars on track too – we’ll hit that component of IMSA’s test later this week.

Keating stripped of Le Mans GTE-Am win; No. 68 Ganassi entry also disqualified


FIA stewards announced Monday that two Ford GT entries have been disqualified from this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans, including the GTE-Am class-winning No. 85 entry from privateer Keating Motorsports.

Also DQ’d was the factory No. 68 Chip Ganassi Racing entry of Joey Hand, Dirk Mueller and Sebastien Bourdais, which initially finished fourth in the GTE-Pro class.

Both entries were found in violation of fuel capacity regulations, with the No. 85 entry also failing to meet the minimum refueling time during pit stops.

The refueling system on the No. 85 entry, driven by Ben Keating, Jeroen Bleekemolen and Felipe Fraga, measured a time of 44.4 seconds during a stop, just shy of the minimum required time of 45 seconds.

As a result, the team was initially issued a 55.2-second post-race penalty by officials, which elevated the No. 56 Team Project 1 Porsche 911 RSR of Joerg Bergmeister, Patrick Lindsey, and Egidio Perfetti to the class win.

The time penalty was calculated by the difference in the refueling time (0.6 seconds) multiplied by the amount of pit stops made by the team (23), then multiplied by four.

The No. 85 entry was set to finish second in class, but then received an outright DQ after its fuel capacity was also revealed to be 0.1 liters above the maximum permitted capacity of 96 liters.

As for Ganassi’s No. 68 entry, it was found to have a fuel capacity of 97.83 liters, which is above the maximum allowed capacity of 97 liters for the GTE-Pro Fords.

The No. 67 Ford of Andy Priaulx, Harry Tincknell, and Jonathan Bomarito subsequently moves up to fourth, and the No. 69 Ford of Scott Dixon, Ryan Briscoe and Richard Westbrook moves up to fifth.

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter