Verstappen among nominees for FIA Action of the Year

© Getty Images
1 Comment

Max Verstappen’s wet-weather masterclass in Sunday’s Brazilian Grand Prix has been shortlisted for the FIA Action of the Year award.

Verstappen won praise from the entire Formula 1 paddock after excelling in tricky conditions at Interlagos, fighting back from 14th to third in the closing stages of the race.

The Action of the Year award is voted for online by fans, allowing them to pick out their favorite on-track moment of 2016 in the FIA-sanctioned championships.

Verstappen is one of nine nominees, joining Jean-Eric Vergne (Formula E), Kris Meeke (WRC), Andre Lotterer (WEC), Jose Maria Lopez (WTCC), Lukasz Habaj (ERC), Kevin Eriksson (WRX), Joel Eriksson (F3) and Paolo de Conto (karting) on the list.

You can see videos for all of the nominees and cast your vote by clicking here.

The winner will be announced at the FIA’s annual prize giving, which takes place in Vienna, Austria on December 2 this year.

Ken Roczen signs with HEP Progressive Ecstar Suzuki for 2023

Roczen Progressive Ecstar Suzuki
Align Media

ANAHEIM, California – Ken Roczen will make the move from HRC Honda to H.E.P. Motorsports with the Progressive Ecstar Suzuki team, ending a long and eventful offseason that saw his split from his longstanding team after he committed to running World Supercross (WSX).

“H.E.P. Motorsports is thrilled to announce that the team has signed Ken Roczen as its premier rider for the 2023 season,” the team announced on Instagram. “Former AMA Motocross champion Roczen will be aboard a Suzuki RM-Z450. Roczen, who won his most recent championship on a Suzuki, will be reunited with the brand and bring his exciting style, determination, and grit back to the RM Army.

“Ken Roczen will compete in the upcoming 2023 Supercross and Motocross Championship series which is set to start on January 7 at Anaheim Stadium in Southern California.”

For Roczen, it is a return to the bike of his youth and on which he had some of his greatest professional success.

“This thing has been going on for weeks and weeks and weeks in the making, but there was so much uncertainty,” Roczen told NBC Sports during Monster Energy Supercross Media Sessions. “It was a very unique situation. I just finally signed two nights ago, so it’s really only legit once the ink hits the paper. It’s been in the works for a long time, but there were just a lot of questions and a lot of input from a lot of other teams too.

“Good things take time, and I’m okay with that. I grew up riding Suzuki. Ot’s like a homecoming. It’s a special feeling”

Roczen won the 2016 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship on a Suzuki before making the move to Honda. That year he won nine of 12 Nationals and finished no worse than second as he easily outpaced Eli Tomac by 86 points. He finished third in his next Pro Motocross outing in 2018 after sitting out the outdoor season in 2017.

“I am beyond excited to reconnect with Suzuki for the 3rd time in my career. We’ve had a lot of success in the past and I’m looking forward to seeing what we can accomplish together in our future.” Roczen said in the Instagram post.