Getty Images

Here’s your Abu Dhabi GP season finale times on NBCSN, CNBC

Leave a comment

This week, the marathon 21-race 2016 Formula 1 World Championship season finally comes to an end with the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

The race is live on NBCSN while note, live qualifying is on CNBC on Saturday.

The full details of the weekend’s coverage – including GP2 as well – is linked below:

Mercedes teammates and rivals Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg will duel for the Formula One Drivers’ Championship at the 2016 season finale, the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, this Sunday at 7:30 a.m. ET on NBCSN. and the NBC Sports app — NBC Sports Group’s live streaming platforms for desktops, mobile devices, tablets, and connected TVs — will provide live streaming coverage of practice, qualifying, and the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

Hamilton, a three-time F1 Drivers’ champion and two-time defending champion, has won three consecutive races to pull within 12 points of Rosberg. Despite Hamilton’s run, he will need to win this weekend and will require some help to overtake Rosberg. If Rosberg secures a podium finish at Abu Dhabi this weekend, he will win his first career title, regardless of Hamilton’s finish.

Following are permutations for a third-consecutive Drivers’ Championship for Hamilton.

If Hamilton finishes in… And Rosberg finishes…
First place Fourth place or worse
Second place Seventh place or worse
Third place Ninth place or worse

Hamilton has won twice at Yas Marina Circuit (2011 & 2014), but Rosberg has bragging rights as the most recent victor in Abu Dhabi with his win last season over Hamilton by eight seconds.

This will be the second consecutive weekend in which NBC Sports has presented a major racing circuit championship. Last week at Homestead in Miami, Daniel Suarez and Jimmie Johnson captured the NASCAR XFINITY and Sprint Cup Series Championships on NBCSN and NBC. Earlier this year, NBCSN telecast coverage of the Grand Prix of Sonoma, as Simon Pagenaud captured his first career season title in the Verizon IndyCar Series. NBC Sports Group is the home of motorsports and is the only sports-media company to annually broadcast all three major circuit championships.

Live coverage begins exclusively on and the NBC Sports app on Friday at 4 a.m. ET with Practice 1, followed by NBCSN’s live coverage of Practice 2 at 8 a.m. ET. Streaming coverage on and the NBC Sports app continues with Practice 3 on Saturday at 5 a.m. ET, followed by live qualifying on CNBC at 8 a.m. ET. NBCSN will air an encore presentation of qualifying on Saturday at 2:30 p.m. ET.

Live Abu Dhabi Grand Prix race coverage begins Sunday at 7 a.m. ET with F1 Countdown, and F1 Extra will recap the race at 10 a.m. ET.

Lead play-by-play announcer Leigh Diffey will call this weekend’s action, and will be joined by veteran analyst and former racecar driver David Hobbs, and analyst and former race mechanic for the Benetton F1 team Steve Matchett. F1 insider Will Buxton will report on-site from Yas Marina Circuit in the United Arab Emirates. NBCSN will also present the GP2 race from Abu Dhabi on Sunday at 6 a.m. ET.

In addition to this week’s F1 coverage, NBCSN will air a 10-hour Mecum Auctions marathon on Thanksgiving, beginning at 7 a.m. ET. The Mecum marathon will feature highlights from this year’s auctions in Denver, Kansas City, and Kissimmee.

Following is this week’s NBC Sports Group motorsports coverage schedule:

Thurs., November 24 Best of Mecum Auctions – Denver NBCSN 7 a.m.
Best of Mecum Auctions – Kansas City NBCSN 9 a.m.
Best of Mecum Auctions – Kissimmee NBCSN 11 a.m.
Best of Mecum Auctions – Denver NBCSN 2:30 p.m.
Fri., November 25 F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix – Practice 1 Streaming 4 a.m.
/DRIVE on NBCSN – Autonomous NBCSN 7 a.m.
/DRIVE on NBCSN – Colorado NBCSN 7:30 a.m.
F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix – Practice 2 NBCSN 8 a.m.
Off The Grid – Japan NBCSN 9:30 a.m.
/DRIVE on NBCSN – Turbocharged NBCSN 10 a.m.
APEX: The Story of the Hypercar NBCSN 10:30 a.m.
Sat., November 26 F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix – Practice 3 Streaming 5 a.m.
F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix – Qualifying CNBC 8 a.m.
F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix – Qualifying (Encore) NBCSN 2:30 p.m.
Sun., November 27 GP2 – Abu Dhabi NBCSN 6 a.m.
F1 Countdown NBCSN 7 a.m.
F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix NBCSN 7:30 a.m.
F1 Extra NBCSN 10 p.m.
GP2 – Abu Dhabi NBCSN 7 p.m.
NASCAR XFINITY Series Awards Show NBCSN 8 p.m.

Toyota No. 8 car wins the 24 Hours of Le Mans for third consecutive year

24 Hours of Le Mans

LE MANS, France — Toyota Gazoo’s No. 8 car comfortably won the 24 Hours of Le Mans by five laps Sunday to secure a third straight victory in the prestigious endurance race.

It was also a third consecutive win for Swiss driver Sebastien Buemi and Japan’s Kazuki Nakajima driving. Brendon Hartley was the other driver, having replaced two-time Formula One champion Fernando Alonso.

Buemi and Hartley sat on the side of the car as Nakajima drove toward the podium. Hartley won for a second time after tasting success with the Porsche LMP Team in 2017 before an unhappy season in Formula One.

The Swiss team’s Rebellion No. 1 featured American driver Gustavo Menezes and Brazilian Bruno Senna – the nephew of late F1 great Ayrton Senna.

It finished one lap ahead of Toyota Gazoo’s No. 7, with Rebellion’s No. 3 finishing in fourth place.

For much of the race it looked like Toyota’s No. 7 would win after leading comfortably from pole position. But late into the night the car encountered an engine problem and the 30-minute stop in the stands proved costly.

The race was first held in 1923. A total of 252,500 spectators attended in 2019, but there were none this year when the race started three months late because of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

“We miss the fans,” New Zealander Hartley said. “I look forward to seeing all the fans again.”

In other divisions:

United Autosports won the LMP2 division with the entry of Filipe Albuquerque, Paul Di Resta and Phil Hanson.

–In LMGTE Pro, the victory was claimed by Aston Martin Vantage AMR of Maxime Martin, Alex Lynn and Harry Tincknell (who drives for Mazda in the DPi division of IMSA).

–TF Sport won the LMGTE Am class.

The Toyota No. 7 took pole after former F1 driver Kamui Kobayashi narrowly edged out the Rebellion No. 1 team in qualifying.

In damp and humid conditions Mike Conway got away cleanly from the start, while Senna held off Buemi.

After nearly seven hours, Toyota’s No. 8 fell back after a 10-minute stop in the stands to fix a brake-cooling problem on Kazuki Nakajima’s car. Rebellion’s No. 1, driven by Frenchman Norman Nato, took advantage to move into second place behind Toyota’s No. 7.

Then came the decisive moment at 2:40 a.m. as the No. 7 – also featuring Argentine Jose Maria Lopez – encountered a turbo problem. When the car came back out it was back in fourth.

“We had a few problems early in the race,” Nakajima said. “Later they had a bigger issue than us.”

Rebellion’s No. 1 encountered a problem on the hood at around 9 a.m. and the change took six minutes, allowing the Rebellion No. 3 (Nathanael Berthon-Louis Deletraz-Romain Dumas) to close the gap.

It was becoming a tight battle between the two Rebellion cars behind Toyota’s No. 8.

At 12 p.m. Rebellion No. 3 with Dumas behind the wheel was only one second ahead of No. 1 driven by Menezes. Then both cars came in for a driver change with Deletraz swapping for Dumas on a lengthy stop, and Nato for Menezes as Rebellion No. 1 suddenly moved ahead of its team rival.

Dumas, a winner in 2016 with Porsche, appeared unhappy at the strategy decision to bring his car in first and the length of the stop. There were tense explanations in the team garage.

Colombian Tatiana Calderon, an F1 test driver with Alfa Romeo, was in the Richard Mille Racing Team in the LMP2 category. She was joined by German Sophia Florsch – an F3 driver – and Dutchwoman Beitske Visser. They placed ninth out of 24 in their category.