Dario Franchitti named grand marshal for Rolex 24 at Daytona

Getty Images

One of the most successful IndyCar drivers of our generation, Dario Franchitti, will serve as grand marshal for this year’s 55th Rolex 24 at Daytona. He’ll give the command to start engines to kick off the Jan. 28 race.

Franchitti’s IndyCar career stretched from 1997 through 2013 over 265 starts, and featured three Indianapolis 500 victories (2007, 2010 and 2012) and four IndyCar championships (2007, 2009, 2010, 2011).

He also triumphed overall with Chip Ganassi Racing at the Rolex 24 in 2008, co-driving with Scott Pruett, Memo Rojas and Juan Pablo Montoya. Franchitti made eight Rolex 24 starts from 2005 through 2013.

“We’re honored to have Dario Franchitti serve as the Grand Marshal for the 2017 Rolex 24 At Daytona,” Daytona International Speedway President Chip Wile said in a release. “Dario has had a decorated career in open-wheel racing and conquered sports car racing’s grueling twice-around-the-clock challenge in 2008. Fans and competitors are looking forward to his starting command as we kick off Speedweeks 2017.”