Sainz crash, Al-Attiyah, Price retirements hit Dakar hard on Day 4 (VIDEO)

Leave a comment

Three big names were knocked out of this year’s Dakar Rally on a dramatic Thursday, with the stage running from Jujuy in Argentina to Tupiza in Bolivia. Coverage of Thursday’s stage airs on Friday at 6:30 p.m. ET on NBCSN.

Carlos Sainz of Peugeot and his co-driver, Lucas Cruz, were lucky to escape unscathed from this barrel roll down a hill.

It was a tough end for the FIA World Rally Championship veteran who in recent years has tackled the Dakar.

Fan footage captured Sainz’s accident, and that is linked above.

Al-Attiyah, the stage one winner in his Toyota, was officially a confirmed retirement on Thursday.

Price, meanwhile, suffered a fractured left femur, which knocked the defending bike champion out of the race. Competitors and fans wished Price well, and fortunately Price checked in on Twitter this morning to provide an update on his own.

The stage five course map is below.

Keating stripped of Le Mans GTE-Am win; No. 68 Ganassi entry also disqualified


FIA stewards announced Monday that two Ford GT entries have been disqualified from this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans, including the GTE-Am class-winning No. 85 entry from privateer Keating Motorsports.

Also DQ’d was the factory No. 68 Chip Ganassi Racing entry of Joey Hand, Dirk Mueller and Sebastien Bourdais, which initially finished fourth in the GTE-Pro class.

Both entries were found in violation of fuel capacity regulations, with the No. 85 entry also failing to meet the minimum refueling time during pit stops.

The refueling system on the No. 85 entry, driven by Ben Keating, Jeroen Bleekemolen and Felipe Fraga, measured a time of 44.4 seconds during a stop, just shy of the minimum required time of 45 seconds.

As a result, the team was initially issued a 55.2-second post-race penalty by officials, which elevated the No. 56 Team Project 1 Porsche 911 RSR of Joerg Bergmeister, Patrick Lindsey, and Egidio Perfetti to the class win.

The time penalty was calculated by the difference in the refueling time (0.6 seconds) multiplied by the amount of pit stops made by the team (23), then multiplied by four.

The No. 85 entry was set to finish second in class, but then received an outright DQ after its fuel capacity was also revealed to be 0.1 liters above the maximum permitted capacity of 96 liters.

As for Ganassi’s No. 68 entry, it was found to have a fuel capacity of 97.83 liters, which is above the maximum allowed capacity of 97 liters for the GTE-Pro Fords.

The No. 67 Ford of Andy Priaulx, Harry Tincknell, and Jonathan Bomarito subsequently moves up to fourth, and the No. 69 Ford of Scott Dixon, Ryan Briscoe and Richard Westbrook moves up to fifth.

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter