Photo courtesy of IMSA

Pruett headlines 2017 Motorsports Hall of Fame of America inductees

Leave a comment

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – The seven-member class for the 2017 Motorsports Hall of Fame of America has been revealed on Thursday at Daytona International Speedway.

The new group includes five-time Rolex 24 champion Scott Pruett, who was present for the announcement and will race this year in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, driving the No. 14 3GT Racing Lexus RC F GT3 in the GT Daytona class.

“This is exciting and humbling, and I’m not sure it’s entirely sunken in yet,” Pruett said. “There’s so many great things about coming to Daytona, and now being part of the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America. I’m honored to be a part of this and can’t wait to come back to be part of the festivities with this great class.”

Others include sprint car legend Steve Kinser, three-time Daytona 200 motorcycle champion Dick Klamfoth, two-time Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series champions Terry Labonte and Herb Thomas, drag racing and land-speed record pioneer Paula Murphy and multi-faceted legend Brock Yates.

This year’s class will be inducted on June 28 in Daytona Beach, during the 29th annual MSHFA induction ceremony.

Steve Torrence takes NHRA points lead with Gatornationals victory

NHRA Gainesville Steve Torrence
Jeff Robinson/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images
Leave a comment

GAINESVILLE, Fla. — Two-time defending NHRA Top Fuel champion Steve Torrence took the points lead Sunday in the AMALIE Motor Oil Gatornationals, beating his father, Billy, in the final round at Gainesville Raceway.

Torrence had a 3.809-second run at 322.11 mph to win for the third time this year and 39th overall. He is now on track for another championship despite missing the season opener.

“We’ve got some good momentum and to be in the points lead, it’s a testament to how hard these guys work,” Steve Torrence said after the NHRA Gainesville victory. “We’ve just got to stay focused and concentrate on what the task at hand is, and that’s trying to win a championship. These guys give me an unbelievable race car and you just try not to screw it up.”

Ron Capps won in Funny Car, Alex Laughlin in Pro Stock and Matt Smith in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Capps raced to his second win this year and 66th overall, beating Tim Wilkerson with a 3.937 at 323.12 in a Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat.

Laughlin topped Aaron Stanfield with a 7.068 at 204.76 in a Chevrolet Camaro for his first win this season and fourth in his career. Smith rode to his first victory in 2020 and 25th overall, topping Andrew Hines with a 6.843 at 196.99 on an EBR.