Nico Rosberg captures 2017 Laureus World Breakthrough award

Getty Images
1 Comment

After breaking Lewis Hamilton’s impenetrable grasp on the FIA Formula 1 World Championship, Nico Rosberg has won more than just a title.

The German won the Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year award on Tuesday at the Laureus World Sports Awards in Monaco.

He’s not alone among F1 drivers who’ve won the award, with Hamilton, Daniel Ricciardo, Jenson Button and Juan Pablo Montoya having also scooped the title in the last 15 years.

In a video he posted on Twitter, linked below, Rosberg called this the “Sports Oscar.” Mercedes AMG Petronas lost out on team of the year honors to the Chicago Cubs, who broke through for their first World Series win since 1908.

Here’s some social images and posts from the evening, below: