All 10 F1 teams to help Pirelli develop 2018-spec tires

Getty Images

Pirelli has confirmed that all 10 Formula 1 teams will play a part in helping to develop its new tires for the 2018 season.

Pirelli called on teams to help develop its revised tires for the 2017 season, with an increase in size of 25 per cent intended to hark back to the look used by F1 in the 1970s and ’80s.

Only Mercedes, Ferrari and Red Bull decided to get involved, creating ‘mule cars’ – altered versions of their 2016 chassis to reflect 2017 levels of downforce – to conduct running at a number of circuits.

Pirelli once again approached every team on the grid to help develop its compounds for 2018, and confirmed on Saturday that all 10 have agreed to play a part using their current cars.

“The way that the tests will be carried out remains identical to last year, so these will still be ‘blind’ tests, without the teams and drivers knowing exactly which type of tires they are trying out,” Pirelli’s statement reads.

“Eight circuits will host the development program. As well as Bahrain, where Ferrari will devote one car to tire testing on Tuesday, tests will also take place in Barcelona, Silverstone, Magny- Cours, Budapest (again during the in-season test immediately following the grand prix), Mexico and Interlagos.

“There will also be a wet test at Paul Ricard, using the circuit’s facilities that allow the surface to be artificially dampened.”

Pirelli 2018 F1 Tire Testing Programme

1. Bahrain – April 18-19 – Ferrari
2. Barcelona – May 16-17 – Renault/Toro Rosso
3. Paul Ricard – May 31 – June 1 – Red Bull
4. Paul Ricard – June 29-30 – Red Bull
5. Silverstone – July 18-19 – Williams/Haas
6. Magny-Cours – July 19-20 – McLaren
7. Budapest – August 1-2 – Mercedes
8. Barcelona – August 3-4 – Ferrari
9. Paul Ricard – September 7-8 – Mercedes
10. Mexico – October 31 – November 1 – Sauber/Force India
11. Interlagos – November 14-15 – McLaren