Getty Images

Spanish Grand Prix’s been surprisingly unpredictable for a decade

Leave a comment

The Spanish Grand Prix hasn’t quite seen a rhyme or reason to its winners over the last decade.

There have been 10 different winners in as many years, from five different teams: Red Bull, Mercedes, Ferrari, Williams and Brawn.

And a handful of those winners have interesting stories:

  • 2016: Max Verstappen, Red Bull-TAG Heuer: First career win, youngest winner in history (18 years old)
  • 2015: Nico Rosberg, Mercedes: Only Spanish G.P. win in 11 attempts
  • 2014: Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes: Only Spanish G.P. win in 10 attempts
  • 2013: Fernando Alonso, Ferrari: His last win for Ferrari and his most recent career win (74 Grands Prix ago)
  • 2012: Pastor Maldonado, Williams-Renault: First and only career win, the most recent for Williams and the last for the Williams-Renault combination
  • 2011: Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull-Renault: Only Spanish G.P. win in nine attempts
  • 2010: Mark Webber, Red Bull-Renault: Only Spanish G.P. win in 12 attempts
  • 2009: Jenson Button, Brawn-Mercedes: Only Spanish G.P. win in 17 attempts
  • 2008: Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari: His most recent career win from pole (131 Grands Prix ago)
  • 2007: Felipe Massa, Ferrari: First time he won back-to-back races in his career (Bahrain 2007)

So who will take this year’s race?  It remains to be seen, but a Valtteri Bottas win would extend the run to 11 in 11 years. Daniel Ricciardo could do the same. But likely, the streak will end if Hamilton or Vettel is back on top.

The Spanish Grand Prix runs from 8 a.m. ET on Sunday morning, on NBCSN, with pre-race coverage beginning an hour earlier at 7 a.m. ET.

Steve Torrence takes NHRA points lead with Gatornationals victory

NHRA Gainesville Steve Torrence
Jeff Robinson/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images
Leave a comment

GAINESVILLE, Fla. — Two-time defending NHRA Top Fuel champion Steve Torrence took the points lead Sunday in the AMALIE Motor Oil Gatornationals, beating his father, Billy, in the final round at Gainesville Raceway.

Torrence had a 3.809-second run at 322.11 mph to win for the third time this year and 39th overall. He is now on track for another championship despite missing the season opener.

“We’ve got some good momentum and to be in the points lead, it’s a testament to how hard these guys work,” Steve Torrence said after the NHRA Gainesville victory. “We’ve just got to stay focused and concentrate on what the task at hand is, and that’s trying to win a championship. These guys give me an unbelievable race car and you just try not to screw it up.”

Ron Capps won in Funny Car, Alex Laughlin in Pro Stock and Matt Smith in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Capps raced to his second win this year and 66th overall, beating Tim Wilkerson with a 3.937 at 323.12 in a Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat.

Laughlin topped Aaron Stanfield with a 7.068 at 204.76 in a Chevrolet Camaro for his first win this season and fourth in his career. Smith rode to his first victory in 2020 and 25th overall, topping Andrew Hines with a 6.843 at 196.99 on an EBR.