Photo: IndyCar

Bourdais leads wet IndyCar warm-up at Watkins Glen

Leave a comment

WATKINS GLEN, N.Y. – A combination of mist, rainfall, and cold temperatures greeted the Verizon IndyCar Series drivers as they ventured onto Watkins Glen International for their morning warm-up, and all drivers made use of the Firestone wet weather tires.

In the end, it was Sebastien Bourdais who led the way with a best lap of 1:45.9510, more than 20 seconds slower than the pole-sitting time from Alexander Rossi (1:22.4639), evidence of the slippery conditions on the track.

Rossi ended up second, followed by Helio Castroneves, Carlos Munoz, and Simon Pagenaud.

Cold and damp conditions persisted throughout the 30-minute session, making things very treacherous for all drivers.

The aforementioned Rossi was one of several to demonstrate as much, in his case sliding his way through the bus stop.

However, the session was completed without incident.

Times are below. Coverage of Sunday’s INDYCAR Grand Prix at The Glen begins at 1:00 p.m. ET on NBCSN, with the green flag scheduled for 1:40 p.m. ET.

Follow @KyleMLavigne

IndyCar entry lists for Harvest GP at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

IndyCar entry lists Indianapolis
Chris Graythen/Getty Images
Leave a comment

There are 25 drivers on the NTT IndyCar Series entry lists at Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course with a few new yet familiar faces for the Oct. 2-3 race weekend.

Four-time champion Sebastien Bourdais will make his season debut in the No. 14 Dallara-Chevrolet (shifting Dalton Kellett to the No. 41) with AJ Foyt Racing, which he is joining full time next season. James Hinchcliffe, who had run three races with Andretti Autosport, will return in place of Zach Veach in the No. 26 Dallara-Honda. Helio Castroneves will drive Arrow McLaren SP’s No. 7 Dallara-Chevy for Oliver Askew, who is out with concussion-like symptoms.

Sage Karam, who has two IndyCar starts this year at IMS (the road course on July 4 and the Indy 500 on Aug. 23), also will return to the series in Dreyer & Reinbold’s No. 24 Dallara-Chevrolet.


Friday and Saturday of the Harvest GP presented by GMR will mark the second and third races this season on Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course. While the July 4 race on the circuit was 80 laps, Friday’s distance is 85 laps, and Saturday will be a 75-lap event.

Championship leader Scott Dixon led 26 of 80 laps to win the July 4 race at the IMS road course. With three races remaining in the series, the five-time series champion enters with a 72-point lead on Josef Newgarden.

Click here to see who’s on the IndyCar entry lists in Race 1 and in Race 2 for the Harvest GP presented by GMR at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.



IndyCar NTT Series practice: 2:25-3:40 p.m., NBC Sports Gold

IndyCar qualifying, Race 1: 6:20 p.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 1: 3:30 p.m. (green flag, 5 p.m.), USA Network, NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar qualifying: 10:20 a.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold

—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 2: 2:30 p.m (green flag, 2:31 p.m.)., NBC, NBC Sports Gold