Getty Images

Ricciardo: Singapore one of Red Bull’s best chances to win again in 2017

Leave a comment

Daniel Ricciardo believes next weekend’s Singapore Grand Prix represents one of Red Bull’s best chances to win another Formula 1 race this season, with the Australian keen to move one step up the podium after finishing second at Marina Bay in 2015 and 2016.

Red Bull has been marooned as the third-fastest team for much of the 2017 season, with Ricciardo taking a opportunistic victory in a crazy Azerbaijan Grand Prix back in June.

After trailing behind Mercedes and Ferrari in recent races, Red Bull heads to Singapore expecting to be closer given the tight and twisting nature of the street course, with the strength of the RB13 chassis expected to give the team a boost.

“I believe Singapore won’t be our only chance, but is one of our best chances of a win in the second half of the season,” Ricciardo said.

“I’ve started second and finished second at this track in the last two years, with fastest lap both times, so my aim this year is definitely to start on pole and try to go one better in the race.”

Singapore presents a number of unique challenges, with the night race forcing all drivers to stay on European time zones while also managing their fitness and nutritional regime for one of the hottest races of the year.

“I always prepare for the race with some acclimatization training. You feel the heat when you’re in the car,
but when you stop after the race and the adrenaline decreases you feel it even more,” Ricciardo said.

“After the race, I will easily sink five liters of water to rehydrate before I go to bed.”

Carb Day: Tony Kanaan is fastest in final practice for Sunday’s Indy 500

Leave a comment

Tony Kanaan wants to put legendary driver and team owner A.J. Foyt back into Victory Lane at the Indianapolis 500.

Kanaan took a big step toward achieving that goal in Friday’s final practice for Sunday’s 102nd running of the Greatest Spectacle In Racing.

Kanaan was fastest of the 33-driver field, with a best lap around the 2.5-mile Indianapolis Motor Speedway oval at 227.791 mph, more than 2 mph faster than the second-fastest driver, Kanaan’s former teammate, Scott Dixon (225.684 mph).

Foyt won a record-tying four Indy 500’s as a driver. It’s been nearly 20 years since he also won as a team owner in 1999 with Kenny Brack behind the wheel.

Marco Andretti was third-fastest (225.200 mph), followed by Sebastien Bourdais (224.815), Charlie Kimball (224.712), 2017 Indy 500 winner Takuma Sato (224.083), Will Power (223.942), Danica Patrick (223.653), Spencer Pigot (223.584) and Ed Jones (223.556).

Other notable driver speeds included:

* Pole sitter Ed Carpenter was 14th fastest (223.219 mph).

* Reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champ Josef Newgarden was 15th (223.186 mph).

* Helio Castroneves, hoping to earn a record-tying fourth 500 win, was 17th (222.913 mph).

* Graham Rahal was 21st (222.526).

* Former 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay was 26th (221.916 mph), followed by rookie Robert Wickens (221.821 mph), carrying the mantle for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports with James Hinchcliffe having failed to qualify for the race.

* The biggest surprise was 2016 Indy 500 winner Alexander Rossi, who was 32nd fastest (221.374 mph).

We’ll have the full speed grid, as well as full driver quotes, shortly. Please check back soon.

Follow @JerryBonkowski