Andretti signs Blomqvist to Formula E seat for season four

FIA Formula E/LAT

BMW factory driver Tom Blomqvist will make his Formula E debut next month in Hong Kong after being named in Andretti’s second race seat for the forthcoming season.

As part of Andretti’s expanded technical partnership with BMW in Formula E ahead of a factory deal for season five, the German manufacturer has pushed to place two of its in-house drivers at the team.

Antonio Felix da Costa joined Andretti for season three of Formula E, and will be joined by Blomqvist after the British driver completed a successful test with the team at Donington Park in October.

Blomqvist’s arrival was confirmed through the publication of the official entry list for Formula E’s fourth season by the series on Friday morning, with the team yet to make any formal announcement.

Blomqvist has raced in DTM with BMW since 2015, taking one race win, and was runner-up to Esteban Ocon in the 2014 FIA European Formula 3 championship, beating Max Verstappen.

The arrival of Blomqvist at Andretti completes the Formula E field for season four, with a full entry list available here.

It also means that Robin Frijns is now without a Formula E seat after spending two season with Andretti, having been shuffled out due to complications over his ties to Audi, a rival brand to BMW.

The fourth FIA Formula E season kicks off in Hong Kong on December 2.