Photo: Getty Images

Formula E: Jean-Eric Vergne wins home race in native Paris

Leave a comment

Techeetah’s Jean-Eric Vergne dominated the Paris ePrix, a home race for the Frenchman, to take his third victory of the 2017-18 ABB FIA Formula E season and extend his points lead.

Vergne had captured the pole for Saturday’s ePrix, and controlled the race throughout after taking the lead off the initial start.

Behind Vergne, chaos reigned on the final lap between teammate Andre Lotterer, Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler’s Lucas di Grassi, and DS Virgin Racing’s Sam Bird.

The three had battled throughout the race for second, with Lotterer taking the spot from Bird, and di Grassi following suit in the second half of the race, relegating Bird back to fourth.

However, all of that changed on the final lap when Lotterer’s Spark-Renault ran out of energy. Di Grassi was able to cleanly get by for second, but Lotterer subsequently tried to block Bird from getting by as they approached the final corner. Bird tried to avoid him, but the two made heavy contact, which saw Lotterer lose the rear wing of his car while Bird had his right-front wheel ripped off.

Remarkably, Bird was still able to cross the line in third place to round out the podium behind Vergne and di Grassi. Lotterer was relegated to sixth behind Venturi Formula E Team’s Maro Engel and Renault E.Dams’ Sebastien Buemi.

Full race results can be found here. The win sees Vergne extend his championship lead over Bird to 31 points – 147 to 116. Mahindra Racing’s Felix Rosenqvist, who finished eighth in Paris, sits third on 86 points.


Keating stripped of Le Mans GTE-Am win; No. 68 Ganassi entry also disqualified


FIA stewards announced Monday that two Ford GT entries have been disqualified from this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans, including the GTE-Am class-winning No. 85 entry from privateer Keating Motorsports.

Also DQ’d was the factory No. 68 Chip Ganassi Racing entry of Joey Hand, Dirk Mueller and Sebastien Bourdais, which initially finished fourth in the GTE-Pro class.

Both entries were found in violation of fuel capacity regulations, with the No. 85 entry also failing to meet the minimum refueling time during pit stops.

The refueling system on the No. 85 entry, driven by Ben Keating, Jeroen Bleekemolen and Felipe Fraga, measured a time of 44.4 seconds during a stop, just shy of the minimum required time of 45 seconds.

As a result, the team was initially issued a 55.2-second post-race penalty by officials, which elevated the No. 56 Team Project 1 Porsche 911 RSR of Joerg Bergmeister, Patrick Lindsey, and Egidio Perfetti to the class win.

The time penalty was calculated by the difference in the refueling time (0.6 seconds) multiplied by the amount of pit stops made by the team (23), then multiplied by four.

The No. 85 entry was set to finish second in class, but then received an outright DQ after its fuel capacity was also revealed to be 0.1 liters above the maximum permitted capacity of 96 liters.

As for Ganassi’s No. 68 entry, it was found to have a fuel capacity of 97.83 liters, which is above the maximum allowed capacity of 97 liters for the GTE-Pro Fords.

The No. 67 Ford of Andy Priaulx, Harry Tincknell, and Jonathan Bomarito subsequently moves up to fourth, and the No. 69 Ford of Scott Dixon, Ryan Briscoe and Richard Westbrook moves up to fifth.

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter