Photo courtesy Team Penske

Team Penske drivers ultra-competitive, even racing radio control cars — with masks on

Leave a comment

No matter what race series they take part in, whenever Team Penske’s drivers get together, fierce competition is likely soon to follow.

Plain and simple, these guys don’t like to lose, even if the prize simply is bragging rights.

“Oh my gosh, it doesn’t matter, you get those drivers together, they’ll want to beat each other in everything,” defending Verizon IndyCar Series champ Josef Newgarden told MotorSportsTalk.

In the most recent edition of The Penske Games, Team Penske’s NASCAR, IndyCar and IMSA drivers take things to a whole new level by “driving” radio control cars.

But there’s a big caveat to the racing action.

Drivers were paired off in two-man teams, and here’s where the big catch comes into play: the driver holding the radio controller wears a mask so he can’t see where his “car” is going, while his teammate is a “spotter,” essentially telling the driver where to go and how to handle the controller.

The action gets pretty dicey, if not full-on comedic.

“Oh yeah, it was a lot of fun,” Newgarden said.

But then Newgarden put things in more of a perspective because like any other driver, he just doesn’t like to lose: “This one probably wasn’t as fun as some of the other things we’ve done because we didn’t win!

“There was a lot of competition there with the guys, as you can imagine. Some did well, others didn’t. I didn’t do very well in that one, but it was challenging.”

Check out the following video to see all that happened, as well as the surprising winners:

Follow @JerryBonkowski

IndyCar entry lists for Harvest GP at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

IndyCar entry lists Indianapolis
Chris Graythen/Getty Images
Leave a comment

There are 25 drivers on the NTT IndyCar Series entry lists at Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course with a few new yet familiar faces for the Oct. 2-3 race weekend.

Four-time champion Sebastien Bourdais will make his season debut in the No. 14 Dallara-Chevrolet (shifting Dalton Kellett to the No. 41) with AJ Foyt Racing, which he is joining full time next season. James Hinchcliffe, who had run three races with Andretti Autosport, will return in place of Zach Veach in the No. 26 Dallara-Honda. Helio Castroneves will drive Arrow McLaren SP’s No. 7 Dallara-Chevy for Oliver Askew, who is out with concussion-like symptoms.

Sage Karam, who has two IndyCar starts this year at IMS (the road course on July 4 and the Indy 500 on Aug. 23), also will return to the series in Dreyer & Reinbold’s No. 24 Dallara-Chevrolet.


Friday and Saturday of the Harvest GP presented by GMR will mark the second and third races this season on Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course. While the July 4 race on the circuit was 80 laps, Friday’s distance is 85 laps, and Saturday will be a 75-lap event.

Championship leader Scott Dixon led 26 of 80 laps to win the July 4 race at the IMS road course. With three races remaining in the series, the five-time series champion enters with a 72-point lead on Josef Newgarden.

Click here to see who’s on the IndyCar entry lists in Race 1 and in Race 2 for the Harvest GP presented by GMR at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.



IndyCar NTT Series practice: 2:25-3:40 p.m., NBC Sports Gold

IndyCar qualifying, Race 1: 6:20 p.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 1: 3:30 p.m. (green flag, 5 p.m.), USA Network, NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar qualifying: 10:20 a.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold

—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 2: 2:30 p.m (green flag, 2:31 p.m.)., NBC, NBC Sports Gold