Photos courtesy Feld Entertainment/Monster Energy Cup

Eli Tomac becomes first repeat Monster Energy Cup Supercross champ, wins $1 million

Leave a comment

What happens in Vegas … well, in this case, $2 million didn’t stay in Vegas.

In Saturday’s Monster Energy Cup season finale at Sam Boyd Stadium, Eli Tomac went back to his Cortez, Colorado home with $1 million in his back pocket – the largest purse in Supercross motorcycle racing.

But that was only half of what happened. For the first time in the event’s eight-year history, one lucky fan, Jesse Hebert, of Greenbelt, Maryland, also took home $1 million after Tomac became the $1 million winner and the third athlete in history to claim the Monster Million.

The invitation-only, all-star event brought out the best of the best in motorcycle racing, all fighting for the coveted Cup. But it was Tomac, of the Monster Energy Kawasaki team, who became the first two-time champion in the history of the Cup series.

“I was just full on, that’s all there was to it,” Tomac said on the podium. “It was just wide open; I was making the passes, and then it was just all the way ’til the end. This is just insane. Unbelievable.”

Eli Tomac celebrates his big win and payday.

Tomac was definitely in a zone: he won all three, 10-lap main event sessions on a hybrid-styled Supercross track designed by five-time champion Ricky Carmichael.

Jason Anderson and Joey Savatgy rounded out the overall Cup Class podium with a (finished 3-5-4 in the three rounds) and (5-6-2), respectively.

In the Supermini class, KTM’s Max Vohland dominated both Main Events going (1-1) ahead of KTM’s Kaeden Amerine who finished second with a (3-2) and Kawasaki’s Chance Hymas rounded out the podium with a 5-4.

Todd LeDuc does a first-ever backflip. Photo: Steve Cox.

In the Amateur All-Star class, Honda’s Jo Shimoda took the overall win (1-3), Husqvarna’s Jalek Swol was second (3-2) and KTM’s Derek Drake finished third (6-1).

Fans in attendance also witnessed the first-ever backflip on a Monster Energy Cup track from two-time Monster Jam World Finals champion Todd LeDuc.

Here are the final results of the Monster Energy Cup Class championship battle: 

  • Eli Tomac, Cortez, Co., Kawasaki (1-1-1)
  • Jason Anderson, Rio Rancho, N.M., Husqvarna (3-5-4)
  • Joey Savatgy, Thomasville, Ga., Kawasaki (5-6-2)
  • Justin Barcia, Greenville, Fla., Yamaha (4-2-7)
  • Malcolm Stewart , Haines City, Fla., Honda (7-4-6)
  • Joshua Grant, Wilomar, Calif., Kawasaki (8-3-8)
  • Vince Friese, Cape Girardeau, Mo., Honda (10-7-5)
  • Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Suzuki (9-16-3)
  • Jordon Smith, Belmont, N.C., KTM (13-8-10)
  • Blake Baggett, Grand Terrance, Calif., KTM (11-10-11)

Follow @JerryBonkowski

Christopher Bell wins third straight Chili Bowl

@cbnationals, Twitter
Leave a comment

Christopher Bell passed Kyle Larson on the final lap of the 55-lap A-Feature to win the 33rd Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals. Bell is only the second driver in event history to win three consecutive Golden Drillers, joining Kevin Swindell who holds the record with four.

“Never in my wildest dreams did I think I would be able to win the Chili Bowl,” Bell said at “To do it three straight times is just unbelievable, but man, I don’t even care about three straight. What about that race? I don’t think I’ve ever really been a part of a last lap race like that, so I’m just glad that thing came out in the end.”

As the white flag waved on his eighth appearance in Saturday’s main event, it seemed Larson was finally going to walk away with his first Golden Driller. This was closest he’s been to the win.

Larson took the lead from Logan Seavey on Lap 21 after a five-lap hot pursuit. Bell moved into second for the first time on Lap 27 but a caution forced him back to third as the field realigned to the last completed lap.

On Lap 33, Bell passed Seavey again for second before another caution reset the field. On the next restart Bell road the rim diving to the hub in Turns 3 and 4. With Larson in sight, Bell started to think about where he was going to put his third trophy.

The final caution flag of the night waved with 20 to go to set up the Bell vs. Larson shootout fans had been waiting for since Larson retired early from the race last year. Larson pulled away on the highline in Turns 1 and 2. He switched to the low in 3 and 4.

With five laps to go Larson hit traffic. That gave Bell the opportunity to close the gap. With two to go Bell was on top of Larson and challenging for the lead. On the final lap Bell passed Larson in Turn 2 as they bumped tires. Glued together through the final pair of turns, they touched twice more before Bell pulled away on the final stretch.

The action wasn’t over, however. Bell wound up on his lid following the win. His donuts got a little out of control and he rolled his midget.

Justin Grant took third by passing Brady Bacon on Lap 36. Bacon followed for fourth with Zach Daum in tow to complete the top five.

Tyler Courtney was the hard charger of the night finishing sixth after starting in 22nd. Brad Sweet and CJ Leary finished seventh and eighth.

Seavey was able to hold onto third until late in the race but ultimately the pole sitter who led the first 20 laps faded to ninth.

Tanner Thorson rounded out the top ten.

Friday’s Main Event

1. Christopher Bell
2. Kyle Larson
3. Justin Grant
4. Brady Bacon
5. Zach Daum
6. Tyler Courtney
7. Brad Sweet
8. CJ Leary
9. Logan Seavey
10. Tanner Thorson
11. Danny Stratton
12. Jonathan Beason
13. Tucker Klaasmeyer
14. Colby Copeland
15. Rico Abreu
16. Michael Faccinto
17. Chad Boat
18. David Gravel
19. Cole Bodine
20. Robert Dalby
21. Jake Neuman
22. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
23. Shane Golobic
24. Sean McClelland