Getty Images

IMS chairman emeritus Mari Hulman George visitation, funeral services announced

Leave a comment

Services for Hulman & Company and Indianapolis Motor Speedway Chairman of the Board Emeritus Mari Hulman George have been announced.

Hulman George, one of the most powerful women in the motorsports world, passed away Saturday at the age of 83.

It was under her nearly 30-year leadership that saw significant growth in terms of the number of events held at the Speedway, including NASCAR’s Brickyard 400, Formula One’s U.S. Grand Prix (2002-2007), IndyCar’s Indianapolis Grand Prix and more.

Visitation will take place Wednesday from Noon to 8 p.m. ET at Callahan & Hughes Funeral Home, 605 South 25th Street, Terre Haute, Indiana.

There will also be visitation Thursday from 10 a.m. to Noon ET at St. Benedict Catholic Church, 111 South 9th Street, in Terre Haute.

MORE: IMS matriarch Mari Hulman George passes away at 83

A Mass of Christian Burial will begin shortly after Thursday’s visitation at St. Benedict’s. Father Martin Day and Father Mike Welch will officiate.

Private burial will occur at Calvary Cemetery in Terre Haute.

The Hulman George Family has requested that in lieu of flowers, memorial contributions be made to the Alzheimer’s Association ( or to the charity of the giver’s choice.

To read more memorial tributes and additional funeral information, click here to visit Callahan & Hughes’ web site.

Follow @JerryBonkowski

F1: Fernando Alonso gets special livery for Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

McLaren Racing
Leave a comment

Fernando Alonso will sport a special livery for his final Grand Prix this weekend in Abu Dhabi.

Reflecting his blue, yellow and red paint scheme of his helmet colors, the car will pay tribute to his home region of Asturias in northern Spain.

“We’re incredibly pleased and proud to be able to race a special one-off livery for Fernando in Abu Dhabi this weekend,” McLaren CEO Zak Brown said on the team’s web site. “We want his last grand prix to feel special in every way, and this was just one of the ways we could reflect that.

“We worked closely and collaboratively with Fernando, and then with the FIA and Formula 1 to make the change for this one race, and they were all hugely supportive of the move.

The special livery will highlight the end of Alonso’s 18-year stint in Formula 1 – a career marked by 32 wins in 311 starts (a winning percentage of 10.3%).

This will be the first time since the 1986 Portuguese Grand Prix that McLaren has run a special paint scheme. That season, they sported a special yellow-branded car for Keke Rosberg.

“Hopefully, this will give Fernando’s fans a little something extra to look forward to at what is bound to be an especially emotional weekend.”