Fernando Alonso to race in 2019 24 Hours of Daytona

Leave a comment

Fernando Alonso will race in the 2019 edition of the 24 Hours of Daytona January 26 at Daytona International Speedway as part of Wayne Taylor Racing in the No. 10 Cadillac.

He will share the cockpit with Jordan Taylor, Renger van der Zande and Kamui Kobayashi.

This will be Alonso’s second consecutive attempt in the 24 Hours of Daytona after finishing 38th overall in the No. 23 United Autosports entry in 2018.

Alonso was part of the winning effort in the 24 Hours of Le Mans this June.

This will give Alonso the opportunity to add two major wins to his resume after announcing earlier this year that he will compete in the 2019 Indy 500.

F1 races in Austin, Mexico City hitting financial rough patches

Getty Images
Leave a comment

AUSTIN, Texas — Two of Formula One’s three races in North America are facing financial issues that are raising concern about their future.

Organizers of the U.S. Grand Prix won’t get at least $20 million from the state of Texas for the 2018 race after missing a paperwork deadline set by state law. And new questions lurk about the future of the Mexican Grand Prix after the country’s new president suggested the government may not spend on the race like it has the last four years.

Both races have been popular with drivers and fans, and have enjoyed key dates on the F1 calendar. Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton clinched season championships in Texas in 2015 and in Mexico City in 2017 and 2018.

Officials in Formula One and at the Circuit of the Americas, host of the U.S. Grand Prix, did not immediately respond to requests for comment Wednesday.