Photo by Charles Coates/Getty Images

Force India becomes Racing Point


FIA, the governing body of Formula 1, has confirmed that Force India – which became Racing Point Force India following the organization’s takeover in August by a consortium lead by Lawrence Stroll – will simply be named Racing Point in 2019.

Racing Point will compete with Lawrence’s son Lance Stroll and Sergio Perez behind the wheel.

The change means the Force India name will not be on the grid for the first time since Vijay Mallya took over the Spyker team in 2007.

WATCH LIVE: IndyCar Carb Day coverage on NBCSN

Leave a comment

It’s Carb Day at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. And that means hours of coverage for IndyCar fans, just days away from the 103rd running of the Indianapolis 500.

Coverage on NBCSN will include the Indy Lights Firestone 100 at 1 p.m. ET, a live edition of NASCAR America from Indianapolis Motor Speedway at 3:30 p.m. ET with Krista Voda, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Steve Letarte, A.J. Allmendinger and Marty Snider, and new Indy-centric episodes of Proving Grounds and Off The Grid. Jake Query will call the Indy Lights Firestone 100 alongside analyst Anders Krohn and pit reporter Katie Hargitt.

Click here to watch online or on the NBC Sports app.

All this leads up to Sunday’s race (11 am ET on NBC), but don’t forget about Saturday’s Indy 500 parade coverage, which you can watch on NBC Sports Gold.