BorgWarner extends turbocharger partnership with IndyCar through 2020

Leave a comment

BorgWarner on Wednesday announced that it has extended its current agreement to be the Official Turbocharger Partner of the IndyCar Series through the 2020 season.

BorgWarner’s Engineered For Racing (EFR) Turbocharger has been a staple in the series since the company and IndyCar formed their first partnership in 2012.

Since then, according to a company media release, its turbochargers “have completed more than 1.25 million trouble-free miles” on high-speed ovals, road courses, street courses and short ovals.

“BorgWarner is honored to continue its partnership with IndyCar and the IndyCar Series, America’s premier open-wheel racing series,” BorgWarner vice president Scott Gallett said in a media release.

“Our EFR turbochargers are the perfect match for IndyCar, with their advanced engineering, low weight and proven durability, they truly are engineered for racing,” Gallett added.

The new extension is the latest chapter of a long-running relationship between BorgWarner and Indianapolis Motor Speedway that dates back to 1936, highlighted by the annual awarding of the $3.5 million BorgWarner Trophy to each year’s winner of the Indianapolis 500.

Follow @JerryBonkowski

Qualification report for Anaheim II Supercross
Leave a comment

Marvin Musquin posted the fastest lap in Qualification 2 for the third round of the 2019 Supercross season at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, Calif. His fastest lap was 57.660 seconds.

Eli Tomac was second-fast at 58:026 with Ken Roczen rounding out the top three at 58.381.

The 250s were almost as fast in the Qualification 2 with Adam Cianciarulo posting a lap of 58.892. In fact, in the first qualification round while the track was still drying out from weekday rains, the 250s were considerably quicker with Dylan Ferrandis’ lap of 58.637 topping the 450 field. Tomac was fastest in that session with a lap of 59.003 seconds.

Click here for complete Qualifying 2, Group A results
Click here for complete Qualifying 1, Group A results

In the 250 class:

Group A, Qualifying 2: Adam Cianciarulo and the field lost some time from Qualification 1, posting a fastest lap of 58.892 seconds. Dylan Ferrandis was second fast at 59.027 with RJ Hampshire third at 59.541 seconds. Thomas Do was quickest in Group B with a time of 1:02.704.
Group A, Qualifying 1: Ferrandis (58:637) was fastest over Cianciarulo (58.725) and Colt Nichols (59.173). Scott Champion was fastest from Group B with a 1:03.544, which was 19th best.

Click here for complete Qualifying 2, Group A results
Click here for complete Qualifying 1, Group A results

Qualification each week can be seen live with NBC’s Sport Gold Supercross / Motocross season pass, which can be purchased at

MORE: Anaheim II Preview: Ken Roczen eyes first win 

Follow Dan Beaver on Twitter