Alex Zanardi laps Daytona in preparation for the 24 Hour race

Leave a comment

A near fatal crash in the 2001 American Memorial at Euro Speedway Lausitz in Germany would have ended the career of a mere mortal.

Alex Zanardi is no mere mortal.

After clawing his way from 22nd to lead on Lap 124 of the 154-lap race, Zanardi spun exiting the pits on Lap 142. He was collected by Alex Tagliani. As a result of the accident, he lost both legs. In just three years, Zanardi was back behind the wheel of a race car full-time, piloting specially fitted touring cars.

In 2019, Zanardi will face one of his biggest challenges since his fateful accident: He will compete in a specially adapted M8 GTE along with Jesse Krohn, John Edwards and Chaz Mostert in the 2019 24 Hours of Daytona.

Earlier this month, Zanardi climbed behind the wheel of his BMW and took some laps around the track.

Ride along with the video above.


Steve Torrence takes NHRA points lead with Gatornationals victory

NHRA Gainesville Steve Torrence
Jeff Robinson/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images
Leave a comment

GAINESVILLE, Fla. — Two-time defending NHRA Top Fuel champion Steve Torrence took the points lead Sunday in the AMALIE Motor Oil Gatornationals, beating his father, Billy, in the final round at Gainesville Raceway.

Torrence had a 3.809-second run at 322.11 mph to win for the third time this year and 39th overall. He is now on track for another championship despite missing the season opener.

“We’ve got some good momentum and to be in the points lead, it’s a testament to how hard these guys work,” Steve Torrence said after the NHRA Gainesville victory. “We’ve just got to stay focused and concentrate on what the task at hand is, and that’s trying to win a championship. These guys give me an unbelievable race car and you just try not to screw it up.”

Ron Capps won in Funny Car, Alex Laughlin in Pro Stock and Matt Smith in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Capps raced to his second win this year and 66th overall, beating Tim Wilkerson with a 3.937 at 323.12 in a Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat.

Laughlin topped Aaron Stanfield with a 7.068 at 204.76 in a Chevrolet Camaro for his first win this season and fourth in his career. Smith rode to his first victory in 2020 and 25th overall, topping Andrew Hines with a 6.843 at 196.99 on an EBR.