Conor Daly represents IndyCar in 2019 Chili Bowl

Getty Images

IndyCar driver Conor Daly is one of 302 entrants so far for the 2019 Chili Bowl. He will drive the 23C of Jonathan Byrd Racing and make his first attempt in the iconic race.

Daly got his first Midget start in September’s Driven2SaveLives BC39 support race for NASCAR’s Brickyard 400 on a newly designed track at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. That race was in honor of Bryan Clauson – the 2014 Chili Bowl winner.

Daly joins more than a half-dozen drivers with NASCAR connections in a race that regularly pulls entrants from outside of Midget racing.

Last year featured more than 350 entries.

Featured among the 2019 interlopers is current Xfinity driver Christopher Bell who won the past two Chili Bowls, former Truck Series driver Rico Abreu who won in 2016 and 2015 and Cup driver Kyle Larson.

Other notable drivers include Kasey Kahne, Justin Allgaier, JJ Yeley, and Kelley Earnhardt Miller’s daughter Karsyn Elledge – also making her first Chili Bowl start.

Click here for the complete list.

NEOM McLaren Formula E announces Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast for 2023 season

McLaren Formula E Hughes
McLaren Racing

Doubling down on their commitment to electric auto sports, McLaren Racing announced Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast to compete in the 2023 Formula E Series (FE), which completes their driver lineup.

The NEOM McLaren FE team was formed by the acquisition of the Mercedes-EQ Formula E team that won the 2021 and 2022 championships with Stoffel Vandoorne and Nyck de Vries behind the wheel.

“Today’s announcement feels like a long time coming,” said Ian James, managing director of NEOM McLaren Electric Racing in a release. “Since May this year, when we first announced McLaren Racing’s entry into Formula E, we have been working tirelessly to get in place the best possible team and structure for sustainable success.

“On the one hand, we have been working on the retention of the amazing talent that already was in place before going into the transitional phase. I’m proud to say I think we’ve done a great job on that front.

“On the other hand, we have been focusing on putting in place new processes and new talent – and the latter includes the drivers.”

The driver lineup clasps the two hands together.

Hughes brings 10 years racing experience in single seater cars, including a role with the acquired Mercedes-EQ team as a reserve and development driver for the past two seasons. He is the 2013 BRDC Formula 4 champion and has multiple wins in Formula 2, including two in 2020.

Announced in August, Rast joins the team after earning two podium finishes and six top-fives in 22 career Formula E starts for Audi Sport ABT before returning to the DTM Series last year. Rast’s best finish in Formula E came in the Puebla E Prix when he finished second to teammate Lucas di Grassi by less than a half second.

McLaren’s commitment to Formula E comes one year after they entered the Extreme E rally series in 2022 with Tanner Foust and Emma Gilmour in the driver lineup. After a modest start to the season, the McLaren XE drivers crossed the finish line first in Round 4 in Chile, but were assessed a time penalty that dropped them to fifth. Last week in the season finale in Uruguay, they held onto a hard-earned second place finish.