Mecum Auctions

Mecum Auctions Kissimmee could top $100 million

Leave a comment

Beginning with today’s 5 p.m. ET airing of “Countdown to the Block” on NBCSN, Mecum Auctions will showcase 800 hours of coverage in 2019.

An estimated 3,500 vehicles will cross the auction block this week at Mecum’s Kissimmee (Fla.) event. Nearly 30 hours of coverage is scheduled this week.

Highlighting the offerings are Benny Parson’s 1973 Cup championship car and a 1965 Ford GT Prototype Roadster that raced at Le Mans. Event organizers believe the Kissimmee auction has the potential to raise more than $100 million.

Scott Hoke hosts the event with analysts John Kraman and Stephen Cox.

Following is the full Mecum Auction: Kissimmee telecast schedule on NBCSN:

Date Event Coverage Time (ET)
Tues., January 8 Mecum: Countdown to the Block NBCSN 5 p.m.
Wed., January 9 Mecum Auctions: Kissimmee NBCSN 12 p.m.
Thur., January 10 Mecum Auctions: Kissimmee (Encore) NBCSN 12:30 a.m.
Mecum Auctions: Kissimmee NBCSN 12 p.m.
Fri., January 11 Mecum Auctions: Kissimmee (Encore) NBCSN 1 a.m.
Mecum Auctions: Kissimmee NBCSN 12 p.m.
Mecum Auctions: Kissimmee (Encore) NBCSN 11 p.m.
Sat., January 12 Mecum Auctions: Kissimmee NBCSN 12:30 p.m.
Mecum Auctions: Kissimmee* NBCSN 8 p.m.
Sun., January 13 Mecum Auctions: Kissimmee* NBCSN 12 a.m.
Mecum Auctions: Kissimmee* NBCSN 7:30 p.m.

*delayed coverage

Keating stripped of Le Mans GTE-Am win; No. 68 Ganassi entry also disqualified


FIA stewards announced Monday that two Ford GT entries have been disqualified from this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans, including the GTE-Am class-winning No. 85 entry from privateer Keating Motorsports.

Also DQ’d was the factory No. 68 Chip Ganassi Racing entry of Joey Hand, Dirk Mueller and Sebastien Bourdais, which initially finished fourth in the GTE-Pro class.

Both entries were found in violation of fuel capacity regulations, with the No. 85 entry also failing to meet the minimum refueling time during pit stops.

The refueling system on the No. 85 entry, driven by Ben Keating, Jeroen Bleekemolen and Felipe Fraga, measured a time of 44.4 seconds during a stop, just shy of the minimum required time of 45 seconds.

As a result, the team was initially issued a 55.2-second post-race penalty by officials, which elevated the No. 56 Team Project 1 Porsche 911 RSR of Joerg Bergmeister, Patrick Lindsey, and Egidio Perfetti to the class win.

The time penalty was calculated by the difference in the refueling time (0.6 seconds) multiplied by the amount of pit stops made by the team (23), then multiplied by four.

The No. 85 entry was set to finish second in class, but then received an outright DQ after its fuel capacity was also revealed to be 0.1 liters above the maximum permitted capacity of 96 liters.

As for Ganassi’s No. 68 entry, it was found to have a fuel capacity of 97.83 liters, which is above the maximum allowed capacity of 97 liters for the GTE-Pro Fords.

The No. 67 Ford of Andy Priaulx, Harry Tincknell, and Jonathan Bomarito subsequently moves up to fourth, and the No. 69 Ford of Scott Dixon, Ryan Briscoe and Richard Westbrook moves up to fifth.

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter