Qualification Report for Glendale Supercross

Leave a comment

In Qualifying 2 at Glendale for Round 2 of the Monster Energy Supercross seasons, Justin Hill improved more than a second and a half to post the fastest time of the afternoon. His fast lap was 1:00.659.

Second-best Cooper Webb bounded up the leaderboard with a lap of 1:00.887 and improved from his 13th-place showing in Qualification 1.

Eli Tomac (1:00.890), Marvin Musquin (1:00.977) and Jason Anderson (1:00.062) rounded out the top five.

After a disappointing run last week in Anaheim, Anderson was determined to rebound. He posted the fastest time in Qualifying 1 with a lap of 1:01.827.

In that session, Malcolm Stewart (1:01.882) set the second fastest time. Stewart finished seventh last week after lining up second for the feature.

Hill (1:02.202), Musquin (1:02.277) and Justin Brayton 1:02.515 rounded out the top three.

Click here for complete Qualifying 2, Group A results
Click here for complete Qualifying 1, Group A results

In the 250 class:

Group A, Qualifying 1: Dylan Ferrandis (1:01.914), Adam Cianciarulo (1:02.148), Colt Nichols (1:02.593), James Decotis (1:03.211) and RJ Hampshire (1:03.441 – set on his last lap)

Group A, Qualifying 2: Ferrandis improved his time to 01:01.270. Cianciarulo (1:01.286) and Nichols (1:01.470) replicated their position for qualification 1. Hampshire (1:01.773) leaped over Decotis (1:02.399)

Click here for complete Qualifying 2, Group A results
Click here for complete Qualifying 1, Group A results

Qualification each week can be seen live with NBC’s Sport Gold Supercross / Motocross season pass, which can be purchased at https://www.nbcsports.com/gold.

MORE: Glendale Preview: Justin Barcia leads riders into Arizona 

Follow Dan Beaver on Twitter

Keating stripped of Le Mans GTE-Am win; No. 68 Ganassi entry also disqualified


FIA stewards announced Monday that two Ford GT entries have been disqualified from this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans, including the GTE-Am class-winning No. 85 entry from privateer Keating Motorsports.

Also DQ’d was the factory No. 68 Chip Ganassi Racing entry of Joey Hand, Dirk Mueller and Sebastien Bourdais, which initially finished fourth in the GTE-Pro class.

Both entries were found in violation of fuel capacity regulations, with the No. 85 entry also failing to meet the minimum refueling time during pit stops.

The refueling system on the No. 85 entry, driven by Ben Keating, Jeroen Bleekemolen and Felipe Fraga, measured a time of 44.4 seconds during a stop, just shy of the minimum required time of 45 seconds.

As a result, the team was initially issued a 55.2-second post-race penalty by officials, which elevated the No. 56 Team Project 1 Porsche 911 RSR of Joerg Bergmeister, Patrick Lindsey, and Egidio Perfetti to the class win.

The time penalty was calculated by the difference in the refueling time (0.6 seconds) multiplied by the amount of pit stops made by the team (23), then multiplied by four.

The No. 85 entry was set to finish second in class, but then received an outright DQ after its fuel capacity was also revealed to be 0.1 liters above the maximum permitted capacity of 96 liters.

As for Ganassi’s No. 68 entry, it was found to have a fuel capacity of 97.83 liters, which is above the maximum allowed capacity of 97 liters for the GTE-Pro Fords.

The No. 67 Ford of Andy Priaulx, Harry Tincknell, and Jonathan Bomarito subsequently moves up to fourth, and the No. 69 Ford of Scott Dixon, Ryan Briscoe and Richard Westbrook moves up to fifth.

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter