Supercross Preview: Ken Roczen eyes first win of 2019

Leave a comment

On Saturday, Jan. 19 Ken Roczen will look for his first win of the 2019 Supercross season as the series tackles Angel Stadium in Anaheim, Calif. for the second time in three weeks. Roczen has been shut out of Victory Lane since January 2017.

Despite failing to win, Roczen has stood on the podium twice this season with a second in Anaheim I and a third last week in Glendale. This is the first time since his injury two years ago that Roczen has bolted on the red plate.

In the 250 class, Colt Nichols held onto his red plate after finishing second at Glendale and winning Anaheim I.

Riders faced muddy conditions in the first Anaheim race and it has been wet in Southern California this week as well, but the forecast is for clear conditions on Saturday.

Anaheim II will feature some serious elevation changes and decisions that need to be made about when to double or triple.

Fans are left to wonder which Jason Anderson will show up this week: the one that struggled to a 14th-place finish in the mud in Week 1 or the rider who challenged for the win at Glendale?

Anderson claimed his head was not in the right place for the season opener, saying he was “overwhelmed with everything,” at “It was crazy. It was just a lot of stuff going on. Not only from obligations and stuff like that, but I had a horrible heat race and they wanted to do the ring presentation for the championship and it was just a lot. I was just not in the right head place to be racing, to be honest.”


Qualifying: 3-7 p.m. on NBC Sports, Gold
Race: 10 p.m. p.m. – 1 a.m. on NBCSN or stream live on NBC Sports Gold

Last Week:

Blake Baggett beat Justin Anderson and Ken Roczen in the 450 class.
Adam Cianciarulo beat Colt Nichols and Shane McElrath in the 250 class.

Last year:

Eli Tomac beat Cole Seely and Justin Anderson in the 450 class.
Joey Savatgy beat Shane McElrath and Christian Craig in the 250 class.


[1] Justin Barcia (Anaheim I)
[1] Blake Baggett (Glendale)

[1] Colt Nichols (Anaheim I)
[1] Adam Cianciarulo (Glendale)

Points Leaders

Ken Roczen (44)
Justin Barcia (43)
Eli Tomac (40)
Blake Baggett (37)
Dean Wilson (34)

Colt Nichols (49)
Adam Cianciarulo (44)
Shane McElrath (42)
Dylan Ferrandis (40)
RJ Hampshire (38)

Follow Dan Beaver on Twitter

Juncos Racing to field single car entry in Indy 500

Christian Petersen/Getty Images
Leave a comment

Part-time NTT IndyCar Series entrant Juncos Racing will announce their attempt to qualify for the 2019 Indianapolis 500 within the next few weeks, according to RACER.

The team, which made its Indy 500 debut in 2017, ran 12 of the 17 IndyCar Series races last season, but has only made a start in one of the four events so far in 2019, finishing 18th in the inaugural running of the IndyCar Classic at Circuit of the Americas with Kyle Kaiser behind the wheel.

Though no driver has yet to be announced for the single-car entry, Kaiser is expected to be the leading candidate for the ride. The 23-year-old Californian has raced for the team since 2014, where he won the 2017 Indy Lights championship.

One of the top teams in the Road to Indy ladder system, Juncos Racing has over 50 wins between Indy Lights and Indy Pro 2000 competition. The team’s most recent victory came in the second Indy Lights race at St. Petersburg this year with Rinus VeeKay behind the wheel.

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter