Oliver Jarvis breaks 26-year-old record to secure Rolex 24 pole

Leave a comment

On Thursday in qualification for the Rolex 24 at Daytona, it did not take long for Oliver Jarvis to break a 26-year-old record in his Mazda Daytona Prototype International. In the early stage of qualification for that class, Jarvis set a time of 1 minute, 33.685 seconds to break the mark set PJ Jones in 1993 by two-tenths of a second. Jones set his record in a GTP class Toyota.

Jarvis beat Team Penske’s Ricky Taylor by .19 seconds and Juan Pablo Montoya, who rounded out the top three.

Team Joest teammate Jonathan Bomarito qualified fourth.

In the GT LeMans class, Nick Tandy won the pole with a lap of 1 minute, 42.257 seconds in his Porsche over Jan Magnussen (1:42.583) in a Corvette and Ryan Briscoe in a Ford. In fourth place, Davide Rigon made room for a fourth manufacturer in the top four spots with his Ferrari.

On Saturday afternoon, GT Daytona will be led to the green by Marcos Gomes (1:45.257), Ben Keating (1:45.324) and Trent Hindman (1:45.396).


Qualification report for Detroit Supercross

Leave a comment

After back to back weeks without a top-five finish, Eli Tomac led both qualification sessions for Round 8 of the Supercross season.

Tomac’s fastest lap of 46.841 beat Dean Wilson (46.893) by .052 seconds.

Justin Brayton (47.478), Joey Savatgy (47.573) and Ken Roczen (47.606) rounded out the top five.

Cole Seely took a rock to the chest in the first round of qualification after setting the third-fastest time in that session. He came out to ride gingerly in the second session, but did not post a single fast lap. His status for the features is questionable.

Click here for combined qualifying results

In the 250 class:

Chase Sexton topped the leaderboard with a time of 47.149 seconds in Round 2 of qualification.

Points leader and winner of the first two 250 East races Austin Forkner was .155 seconds behind in second.

Alex Martin, Justin Cooper and Martin Davalos rounded out the top five.

In the Triple Crown format, the top 18 drivers lock into the features. Two riders from Group B were fast enough to advance with Ramyller Alves (16th fastest overall) and Steven Clarke (18th) making their way in. Joey Crown missed the top 18 by .002 seconds and will have to fight his way through the Last Chance Qualifier.

Click here for combined qualifying results

Qualification each week can be seen live with NBC’s Sport Gold Supercross / Motocross season pass, which can be purchased at https://www.nbcsports.com/gold.

MORE: Detroit Preview: It’s Webb’s World for now

Follow Dan Beaver on Twitter