Supercross Preview: Favorites seek revenge in San Diego

1 Comment

What a difference a year makes. Cooper Webb finished ninth in the standings in 2018 with 181 points. He enters San Diego with the red plate affixed to his bike and 83 points to his credit – nearly 46 percent of last year’s total in only four races.

According to, the points leader after Round 4 has gone on to win the last five 450 championships. Then again, no one has had a smaller lead at this stage of the season as the top four are separated by only four points.

Webb is not the only driver riding above expectations this year. In four races so far, riders have scored their first, second or third career victories – shutting out the favorites. And that is going to dominate this week’s storylines as they seek revenge in San Diego.

It won’t be easy, however; last year Marvin Musquin finished second in San Diego to the eventual champion Jason Anderson but the riders currently second and third in the standings experienced trouble and finished at the very back of the pack. Ken Roczen finished 21st two laps off the pace with Eli Tomac DNFing in 22nd.

Increasing the level of difficulty this week is the forecast. For the second time this season, rain is expected to impact the feature just as it did in Anaheim I when Justin Barcia and Colt Nichols survived the mud to post surprising victories.


Qualifying: 4 p.m. on NBC Sports, Gold
Race: Live, 10 p.m. on NBCSN and NBC Sports, Gold

Last Week:

Cooper Webb became the first two-time winner this season ahead of Marvin Musquin and Blake Baggett in the 450 class.
Adam Cianciarulo beat Dylan Ferrandis and Colt Nichols in the 250 class.

Last year:

Jason Anderson beat Marvin Musquin and Blake Baggett in the 450 class.
Justin Hill beat Adam Cianciarulo and Chase Sexton in the 250 class.


[2] Cooper Webb (Anaheim II, Oakland)
[1] Justin Barcia (Anaheim I)
[1] Blake Baggett (Glendale)

[2] Adam Cianciarulo (Glendale, Oakland)
[1] Colt Nichols (Anaheim I)
[1] Shane McElrath (Anaheim II)


Ken Roczen (4)
Eli Tomac (4)
Marvin Musquin (3)
Cooper Webb (3)
Dean Wilson (2)
Blake Baggett (2)
Justin Barcia (1)
Jason Anderson (1)

Shane McElrath (4)
Colt Nichols (4)
Adam Cianciarulo (4)
RJ Hampshire (3)
Dylan Ferrandis (3)
James Decotis (1)
Jacob Hayes (1)

Points Leaders

Cooper Webb (83)
Ken Roczen (81)
Eli Tomac (80)
Marvin Musquin (79)
Justin Barcia (72)

Colt Nichols (91)
Adam Cianciarulo (88)
Shane McElrath (87)
Dylan Ferrandis (86)
RJ Hampshire (67)

Follow Dan Beaver on Twitter

Keating stripped of Le Mans GTE-Am win; No. 68 Ganassi entry also disqualified


FIA stewards announced Monday that two Ford GT entries have been disqualified from this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans, including the GTE-Am class-winning No. 85 entry from privateer Keating Motorsports.

Also DQ’d was the factory No. 68 Chip Ganassi Racing entry of Joey Hand, Dirk Mueller and Sebastien Bourdais, which initially finished fourth in the GTE-Pro class.

Both entries were found in violation of fuel capacity regulations, with the No. 85 entry also failing to meet the minimum refueling time during pit stops.

The refueling system on the No. 85 entry, driven by Ben Keating, Jeroen Bleekemolen and Felipe Fraga, measured a time of 44.4 seconds during a stop, just shy of the minimum required time of 45 seconds.

As a result, the team was initially issued a 55.2-second post-race penalty by officials, which elevated the No. 56 Team Project 1 Porsche 911 RSR of Joerg Bergmeister, Patrick Lindsey, and Egidio Perfetti to the class win.

The time penalty was calculated by the difference in the refueling time (0.6 seconds) multiplied by the amount of pit stops made by the team (23), then multiplied by four.

The No. 85 entry was set to finish second in class, but then received an outright DQ after its fuel capacity was also revealed to be 0.1 liters above the maximum permitted capacity of 96 liters.

As for Ganassi’s No. 68 entry, it was found to have a fuel capacity of 97.83 liters, which is above the maximum allowed capacity of 97 liters for the GTE-Pro Fords.

The No. 67 Ford of Andy Priaulx, Harry Tincknell, and Jonathan Bomarito subsequently moves up to fourth, and the No. 69 Ford of Scott Dixon, Ryan Briscoe and Richard Westbrook moves up to fifth.

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter