Supercross: Justin Hill injury update

Leave a comment

Justin Hill missed Round 5 of the Supercross season as he was evaluated for a possible injury at San Diego. His return date is uncertain.

Hill went down hard when his front wheel dug into a hole that was obscured by puddling water in the whoops. His chest hit the handlebars and the rider needed to be evaluated for a rib injury in an area that indicated he might also have a spleen injury, according to That kept him from riding in the heats or feature at San Diego.

San Diego was the first race he missed, but in four previous starts his best result was an 11th at Anaheim II in the Triple Crown event.

Doctors determined he did not have any injury to his spleen, but cartilage damage in his rib cage might keep him from riding this weekend in Minneapolis.

The team has not yet determined if he will return at Minneapolis or a later date.

Round 5 from Minneapolis can be seen live on NBCSN or NBC Sports, Gold at 8 p.m. ET. Qualification can be seen at 2 p.m. ET on NBC Gold.

Keating stripped of Le Mans GTE-Am win; No. 68 Ganassi entry also disqualified


FIA stewards announced Monday that two Ford GT entries have been disqualified from this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans, including the GTE-Am class-winning No. 85 entry from privateer Keating Motorsports.

Also DQ’d was the factory No. 68 Chip Ganassi Racing entry of Joey Hand, Dirk Mueller and Sebastien Bourdais, which initially finished fourth in the GTE-Pro class.

Both entries were found in violation of fuel capacity regulations, with the No. 85 entry also failing to meet the minimum refueling time during pit stops.

The refueling system on the No. 85 entry, driven by Ben Keating, Jeroen Bleekemolen and Felipe Fraga, measured a time of 44.4 seconds during a stop, just shy of the minimum required time of 45 seconds.

As a result, the team was initially issued a 55.2-second post-race penalty by officials, which elevated the No. 56 Team Project 1 Porsche 911 RSR of Joerg Bergmeister, Patrick Lindsey, and Egidio Perfetti to the class win.

The time penalty was calculated by the difference in the refueling time (0.6 seconds) multiplied by the amount of pit stops made by the team (23), then multiplied by four.

The No. 85 entry was set to finish second in class, but then received an outright DQ after its fuel capacity was also revealed to be 0.1 liters above the maximum permitted capacity of 96 liters.

As for Ganassi’s No. 68 entry, it was found to have a fuel capacity of 97.83 liters, which is above the maximum allowed capacity of 97 liters for the GTE-Pro Fords.

The No. 67 Ford of Andy Priaulx, Harry Tincknell, and Jonathan Bomarito subsequently moves up to fourth, and the No. 69 Ford of Scott Dixon, Ryan Briscoe and Richard Westbrook moves up to fifth.

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter