Qualification report for Arlington Supercross

Leave a comment

Cooper Webb led a group of 14 riders who all fell in the 50-second range in Group A. He set the fastest time in 450s qualification for Round 7 of the Supercross season with a trip around the track in 50.012 seconds. Webb told NBC’s Sport Gold afterward that the close competition is because the tracks is fast and easy to navigate, but that will change as the event progresses.

Justin Hill (50.203) and Marvin Musquin (50.203) rounded out the top three.

Returning from injury, Zach Osborne (50328) posted the fourth fastest time with Cole Seely in fifth.

With a lap of 52.623 seconds, Chris Blose was the fastest rider from Group B.

Click here for combined qualifying results

In the 250 class:

Austin Forkner was fast, but less than reliable. His lap of 50.149 seconds topped the leaderboard, but midway through the final qualification session he jumped off course and laid his bike down on the concrete outside of the track.

Justin Cooper was .269 seconds slower in second. Martin Davalos (50.601) rounded out the top three.

Fourth-place Chase Sexton and fifth-place Jordon Smith were the only other riders under the 51 second mark.

In 12th, John Short was the fastest from Group B.

Click here for combined qualifying results

Qualification each week can be seen live with NBC’s Sport Gold Supercross / Motocross season pass, which can be purchased at

MORE: Arlington Preview: Razor thin margins separate title contenders

Follow Dan Beaver on Twitter

IndyCar teams with NASCAR on IMS road course doubleheader in 2021

IndyCar NASCAR doubleheader 2021
Jamie Squire/Getty Images
Leave a comment

The NTT IndyCar Series will be sharing Indianapolis Motor Speedway with the NASCAR Cup Series in a race weekend doubleheader for the second consecutive season, but both series will be on the road course in August 2021.

IMS announced Wednesday that IndyCar will hold an Aug. 14, 2021 race on its 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course. It’ll be a day before NASCAR’s premier series runs the same layout for the first time after the Brickyard 400 was contested on the 2.5-mile oval for the first time in 27 years.

This season’s rescheduling of the IndyCar GMR Grand Prix to July 4, 2019 (a day before the Brickyard 400) led to the first NASCAR-IndyCar doubleheader weekend. The Xfinity Series also raced on the IMS road course for the first time July 4 after the IndyCar race ended.

INDYCAR AT IMS THIS WEEKEND: Harvest GP schedule, entry lists

IndyCar will be holding its second race weekend this year at the IMS road course Friday and Saturday with the Harvest GP.

“Our first NASCAR-INDYCAR weekend was a big success last July, with positive feedback from
our loyal fans who watched the races on NBC and from the drivers, teams and participants
involved,” IMS president Douglas Boles said in a statement. “The Xfinity Series’ debut on the IMS road course provided exactly the kind of thrilling action from the green to checkered flags that we anticipated, so we know the teams and drivers of the Cup Series will put on a great show as they turn left and right for the first time at IMS.

“We can’t wait to welcome back fans to see NASCAR and INDYCAR together during this
exciting weekend as we add another memorable chapter in the long, storied history of the
Indianapolis Motor Speedway.”

It also will mark the first NASCAR Cup-IndyCar doubleheader with a crowd as fans weren’t permitted at IMS in July because of the novel coronvavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

Over the course of Wednesday, NASCAR is releasing its 36-race slate for next season. IndyCar has yet to release its full 2021 schedule.