Qualification report for Seattle Supercross

Leave a comment

Dean Wilson was the fastest qualifier for the first time since Daytona 2014. His lap of 45.281 gives him some momentum heading into Round 12 of the Supercross season at CenturyLink Field in Seattle, Was.

Coming off last week’s win in Indy, Marvin Musquin kept Wilson is sight with a lap of 45.292 seconds.

Eli Tomac (45.536), Ken Roczen (45.803) and Joey Savatgy (45.864) rounded out the top five.

Cooper Webb struggled in timed qualification laps, posting only the 11th fastest time of 46.433 – more than 1.1 seconds slower than the leader. Webb has overcome poor qualification efforts already this year to finish on the podium, however.

Click here for combined qualifying results

MORE: Cooper Webb’s rivals need to make a stand in the west

In the 250 class:

The 250 West riders return to action this week and the top two don’t seem to have missed a beat.

Dylan Ferrandis posted a lap of 45.907 seconds in the final timed qualification session before tonight’s heat and outpaced points leader Adam Cianciarulo by seven-tenths of a second.

Chris Blose (46.421), James Decotis (46.468) and Colt Nichols (46.509) rounded out the top five.

The fastest rider from Group 2 was Colin Jurin (48.939) in 16th.

Click here for combined qualifying results

Qualification each week can be seen live with NBC’s Sport Gold Supercross / Motocross season pass, which can be purchased at

Follow Dan Beaver on Twitter

Keating stripped of Le Mans GTE-Am win; No. 68 Ganassi entry also disqualified


FIA stewards announced Monday that two Ford GT entries have been disqualified from this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans, including the GTE-Am class-winning No. 85 entry from privateer Keating Motorsports.

Also DQ’d was the factory No. 68 Chip Ganassi Racing entry of Joey Hand, Dirk Mueller and Sebastien Bourdais, which initially finished fourth in the GTE-Pro class.

Both entries were found in violation of fuel capacity regulations, with the No. 85 entry also failing to meet the minimum refueling time during pit stops.

The refueling system on the No. 85 entry, driven by Ben Keating, Jeroen Bleekemolen and Felipe Fraga, measured a time of 44.4 seconds during a stop, just shy of the minimum required time of 45 seconds.

As a result, the team was initially issued a 55.2-second post-race penalty by officials, which elevated the No. 56 Team Project 1 Porsche 911 RSR of Joerg Bergmeister, Patrick Lindsey, and Egidio Perfetti to the class win.

The time penalty was calculated by the difference in the refueling time (0.6 seconds) multiplied by the amount of pit stops made by the team (23), then multiplied by four.

The No. 85 entry was set to finish second in class, but then received an outright DQ after its fuel capacity was also revealed to be 0.1 liters above the maximum permitted capacity of 96 liters.

As for Ganassi’s No. 68 entry, it was found to have a fuel capacity of 97.83 liters, which is above the maximum allowed capacity of 97 liters for the GTE-Pro Fords.

The No. 67 Ford of Andy Priaulx, Harry Tincknell, and Jonathan Bomarito subsequently moves up to fourth, and the No. 69 Ford of Scott Dixon, Ryan Briscoe and Richard Westbrook moves up to fifth.

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter