Chris Owens / IndyCar

Colton Herta fastest in IndyCar GP final warm-up

Leave a comment

Colton Herta set the fastest lap in the final warm-up session for the IndyCar Grand Prix, with an elapsed time of 1 minute, 9.2003 seconds around the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.

The Harding Steinbrenner Racing driver, who starts fourth in today’s Grand Prix, led Scott Dixon by 0.3802 seconds. Takuma Sato was third-fastest in the session with an elapsed lap time of 1 minute, 9.6791 seconds.

Race polesitter Felix Rosenqvist was ninth-fastest with an elapsed time of 1 minute, 10.1267 seconds.

All drivers completed at least one lap during the final warm-up, with the exception of Patricio O’Ward, who experienced an alternator issue. O’Ward also had the same problem during yesterday’s practice sessions. 

“More issues, more issues, more issues,” O’Ward told NBCSN. “We’ve had a really crappy weekend. We’ve had 5-10 clean laps at the most, and we’re starting at the back so we’ll see what we can do.”

The Indianapolis 500 is May 26 on NBC.

Click here for combined results from all three weekend practice sessions

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter 

Keating stripped of Le Mans GTE-Am win; No. 68 Ganassi entry also disqualified


FIA stewards announced Monday that two Ford GT entries have been disqualified from this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans, including the GTE-Am class-winning No. 85 entry from privateer Keating Motorsports.

Also DQ’d was the factory No. 68 Chip Ganassi Racing entry of Joey Hand, Dirk Mueller and Sebastien Bourdais, which initially finished fourth in the GTE-Pro class.

Both entries were found in violation of fuel capacity regulations, with the No. 85 entry also failing to meet the minimum refueling time during pit stops.

The refueling system on the No. 85 entry, driven by Ben Keating, Jeroen Bleekemolen and Felipe Fraga, measured a time of 44.4 seconds during a stop, just shy of the minimum required time of 45 seconds.

As a result, the team was initially issued a 55.2-second post-race penalty by officials, which elevated the No. 56 Team Project 1 Porsche 911 RSR of Joerg Bergmeister, Patrick Lindsey, and Egidio Perfetti to the class win.

The time penalty was calculated by the difference in the refueling time (0.6 seconds) multiplied by the amount of pit stops made by the team (23), then multiplied by four.

The No. 85 entry was set to finish second in class, but then received an outright DQ after its fuel capacity was also revealed to be 0.1 liters above the maximum permitted capacity of 96 liters.

As for Ganassi’s No. 68 entry, it was found to have a fuel capacity of 97.83 liters, which is above the maximum allowed capacity of 97 liters for the GTE-Pro Fords.

The No. 67 Ford of Andy Priaulx, Harry Tincknell, and Jonathan Bomarito subsequently moves up to fourth, and the No. 69 Ford of Scott Dixon, Ryan Briscoe and Richard Westbrook moves up to fifth.

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter