Mike Young / IndyCar

Indy Lights: Rinus VeeKay wins GP of Indianapolis race 2

1 Comment

In dominating fashion, Rinus VeeKay won the second Indy Lights race of the weekend on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course, leading all 35 laps from the pole to take his second victory of the season.

“It was a great race,” VeeKay told NBC Sports. “I want to thank the team for an amazing car and I’m looking forward to many more wins.”

With his flawless victory, VeeKay also moved to the top of the Indy Lights points standings, leading Oliver Askew by one point.

“That’s very nice to know,” VeeKay said. “It doesn’t mean a lot [right now], but let’s keep it this way.”

Zachary Claman moved from fifth to second on Lap 1 and stayed there for a runner-up finish.

“It was a great race. I just played it smart on the first lap,” Claman said.

Askew finished third, followed by Friday’s winner, Robert Megennis, who ended up fourth after spinning early in the race.

“I am a little disappointed in myself for making that mistake going off [track] fighting for first, but this is Indy Lights,” Megennis said.

“This is leading up to IndyCar, and I’d rather make these mistakes now and learn from them and be better prepared for hopefully when I make it to the NTT IndyCar Series.”

Click here for full race results 

Indy Lights now moves to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway oval, with the 17th running of the Freedom 100 taking place on Carb Day, May 24 at 1:00 p.m. ET.

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter 

Barber IndyCar iRacing results

Chris Graythen/Getty Images
Leave a comment

Scott McLaughlin led the final six laps Saturday and finished 0.4241 seconds ahead of teammate Will Power to win the Honda IndyCar Grand Prix of Alabama at Barber Motorsports Park.

Scott Speed finished third behind the Team Penske drivers. Alex Palou and Simon Pagenaud rounded out the top five.

Click here for the full boxscore from Saturday’s IndyCar iRacing event at Barber Motorsports Park.

WINNER: Scott McLaughlin holds off teammate Will Power

WHAT DRIVERS SAID: Postrace reactions on social media

Other notable finishers:

Colton Herta (seventh), Robert Wickens (eighth), Jimmie Johnson (12th), Graham Rahal (14th), Alexander Rossi (22nd).

Sage Karam led a race-high 24 laps but retired from the 45-lap event because of a crash and finished 27th of 29 drivers.