George Crosland/

Fox Raceway MX Preview: Roczen, Tomac need to sustain momentum

Leave a comment

After seven years without a Motocross round at Pala Raceway, the track returns to the schedule displacing Glen Helen.

At Glen Helen last year, Eli Tomac scored his second consecutive victory on the strength of two Moto wins to kick off his championship bid over Marvin Musquin (2-3) and Jason Anderson (4-2).

Tomac was heavily favored to win last week at Hangtown, but he was not able to overcome a poor start in Moto 1 and had to settle for a second-place finish. He needs to win this week before anyone questions his ability to earn a third consecutive MX title.

Now that he has the monkey off his back, Ken Roczen has something to prove as well and he will do so if he can at least win another Moto this week. Between his 2016 victory that began his winless streak and last week, Roczen scored only two Moto wins.

Roczen wasn’t the only rider to stage a comeback. Anderson picked up where he left off by finishing third overall at Hangtown. As with the other top finishers last week, his key to success is going to be in sustaining that momentum.

A good start and the willingness to ride flat out for 30 minutes in each Moto will be the key to success this week.

In the 250 class, Martin Davalos and Mitchell Falk both crashed hard at Hangtown. Despite taking a foot peg to his ribs that left him with cartilage damage, Davalos will race this weekend. Falk was not so lucky. Crashing early in Moto 1, he broke a collarbone and is out until further notice.

MORE: Eli’s Coming


Qualifiers: 1:15 p.m. ET on NBC Sports Gold
Race: Live, 4 p.m. ET on NBC Sports Gold (Moto 1) and 6 p.m. ET on NBCSN (Moto 2)

May 18 – 2019 Hangtown MX Classic

450: Ken Roczen (1-2) won over Eli Tomac (4-1) and Jason Anderson (2-5).
250: Adam Cianciarulo (2-1) beat Justin Cooper (1-4) and Colt Nichols (5-3).

September 10, 2011 – Pala Raceway

450: Pala Raceway returns to the schedule for the first time since 2011 when Ryan Dungey (2-1) defeated Ryan Villopoto (1-3) and Justin Barcia (3-2).
250: Dean Wilson (1-1) beat Blake Baggett (2-3) and Marvin Musquin (4-4).

Overall Wins

[1] Ken Roczen (Hangtown)

[1] Adam Cianciarulo (Hangtown)

Moto Wins

[1] Ken Roczen (Hangtown)
[1] Eli Tomac (Hangtown)

[1] Adam Cianciarulo (Hangtown)
[1] Justin Cooper (Hangtown)

Follow Dan Beaver on Twitter

IndyCar teams with NASCAR on IMS road course doubleheader in 2021

IndyCar NASCAR doubleheader 2021
Jamie Squire/Getty Images
Leave a comment

The NTT IndyCar Series will be sharing Indianapolis Motor Speedway with the NASCAR Cup Series in a race weekend doubleheader for the second consecutive season, but both series will be on the road course in August 2021.

IMS announced Wednesday that IndyCar will hold an Aug. 14, 2021 race on its 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course. It’ll be a day before NASCAR’s premier series runs the same layout for the first time after the Brickyard 400 was contested on the 2.5-mile oval for the first time in 27 years.

This season’s rescheduling of the IndyCar GMR Grand Prix to July 4, 2019 (a day before the Brickyard 400) led to the first NASCAR-IndyCar doubleheader weekend. The Xfinity Series also raced on the IMS road course for the first time July 4 after the IndyCar race ended.

INDYCAR AT IMS THIS WEEKEND: Harvest GP schedule, entry lists

IndyCar will be holding its second race weekend this year at the IMS road course Friday and Saturday with the Harvest GP.

“Our first NASCAR-INDYCAR weekend was a big success last July, with positive feedback from
our loyal fans who watched the races on NBC and from the drivers, teams and participants
involved,” IMS president Douglas Boles said in a statement. “The Xfinity Series’ debut on the IMS road course provided exactly the kind of thrilling action from the green to checkered flags that we anticipated, so we know the teams and drivers of the Cup Series will put on a great show as they turn left and right for the first time at IMS.

“We can’t wait to welcome back fans to see NASCAR and INDYCAR together during this
exciting weekend as we add another memorable chapter in the long, storied history of the
Indianapolis Motor Speedway.”

It also will mark the first NASCAR Cup-IndyCar doubleheader with a crowd as fans weren’t permitted at IMS in July because of the novel coronvavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

Over the course of Wednesday, NASCAR is releasing its 36-race slate for next season. IndyCar has yet to release its full 2021 schedule.