Chris Jones / IndyCar

Kanaan fastest in Carb Day practice

Leave a comment

Tony Kanaan set the fastest lap during Indianapolis 500 Carb Day practice Friday afternoon, with a best one lap speed of 225.517 mph.

The A.J. Foyt Racing driver led Santino Ferrucci by 0.0054 seconds.

THE 103RD INDIANAPOLIS 500: Click here for how to watch, full daily schedule

Takuma Sato would end the session third fastest with a 225.468 mph, with Jordan King (225.337 mph) and James Davison (225.314 mph) rounding out the top five.

Further down the practice results, defending race champion Will Power was the fastest Penske driver of the session, finishing tenth with a best lap speed of 224.240 mph.

Indianapolis 500 pole sitter and IndyCar Grand Prix winner Simon Pagenaud would finish the session 22nd fastest, with a best lap time of 222.856 mph.

With Carb Day practice complete, the next on track session for the NTT IndyCar Series will be the 103rd running of the Indianapolis 500, with coverage beginning Sunday morning at 9:00 a.m. ET on NBCSN, and then moving over to NBC at 11:00 a.m. ET

Click here for full Carb Day practice results

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter 

Keating stripped of Le Mans GTE-Am win; No. 68 Ganassi entry also disqualified


FIA stewards announced Monday that two Ford GT entries have been disqualified from this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans, including the GTE-Am class-winning No. 85 entry from privateer Keating Motorsports.

Also DQ’d was the factory No. 68 Chip Ganassi Racing entry of Joey Hand, Dirk Mueller and Sebastien Bourdais, which initially finished fourth in the GTE-Pro class.

Both entries were found in violation of fuel capacity regulations, with the No. 85 entry also failing to meet the minimum refueling time during pit stops.

The refueling system on the No. 85 entry, driven by Ben Keating, Jeroen Bleekemolen and Felipe Fraga, measured a time of 44.4 seconds during a stop, just shy of the minimum required time of 45 seconds.

As a result, the team was initially issued a 55.2-second post-race penalty by officials, which elevated the No. 56 Team Project 1 Porsche 911 RSR of Joerg Bergmeister, Patrick Lindsey, and Egidio Perfetti to the class win.

The time penalty was calculated by the difference in the refueling time (0.6 seconds) multiplied by the amount of pit stops made by the team (23), then multiplied by four.

The No. 85 entry was set to finish second in class, but then received an outright DQ after its fuel capacity was also revealed to be 0.1 liters above the maximum permitted capacity of 96 liters.

As for Ganassi’s No. 68 entry, it was found to have a fuel capacity of 97.83 liters, which is above the maximum allowed capacity of 97 liters for the GTE-Pro Fords.

The No. 67 Ford of Andy Priaulx, Harry Tincknell, and Jonathan Bomarito subsequently moves up to fourth, and the No. 69 Ford of Scott Dixon, Ryan Briscoe and Richard Westbrook moves up to fifth.

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter