How to watch 103rd running of the Indy 500

Leave a comment

There’s a new television home for ‘The Greatest Spectacle in Racing’.

For the first time in history, the Indianapolis 500 will be broadcast on NBC, with eight hours of coverage scheduled to air today between NBC and NBCSN.

Today’s coverage kicks off at 9:00 a.m. ET with Indy 500 pre-race coverage on NBCSN before moving over to NBC at 11:00 a.m. ET.

The green flag for the 200-lap event is scheduled to drop at 12:45 p.m. ET.

Following race coverage on NBC, extended post-race coverage will air on NBCSN beginning approximately at 4:00 p.m. ET.

Simon Pagenaud will start from the pole position in today’s race. Pagenaud is looking to become the second consecutive driver to sweep both IndyCar races at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, having won the IndyCar Grand Prix on the speedway’s interior road course earlier this month.

Pagenaud’s teammate Will Power is the defending champion of both races, having won his first Indianapolis 500 last year after leading 59 laps.

Here is today’s schedule:

(All times are Eastern)

Sunday 5/26, 9:00 a.m. ET, Indy 500 Pre-Race, NBCSN and streaming live

Sunday 5/26, 11:00 a.m. ET, 103rd running of the Indianapolis 500, NBC and streaming live

Sunday 5/26, 4:00 p.m. ET, Indy 500 Post-Race, NBCSN and streaming live

IndyCar teams with NASCAR on IMS road course doubleheader in 2021

IndyCar NASCAR doubleheader 2021
Jamie Squire/Getty Images
Leave a comment

The NTT IndyCar Series will be sharing Indianapolis Motor Speedway with the NASCAR Cup Series in a race weekend doubleheader for the second consecutive season, but both series will be on the road course in August 2021.

IMS announced Wednesday that IndyCar will hold an Aug. 14, 2021 race on its 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course. It’ll be a day before NASCAR’s premier series runs the same layout for the first time after the Brickyard 400 was contested on the 2.5-mile oval for the first time in 27 years.

This season’s rescheduling of the IndyCar GMR Grand Prix to July 4, 2019 (a day before the Brickyard 400) led to the first NASCAR-IndyCar doubleheader weekend. The Xfinity Series also raced on the IMS road course for the first time July 4 after the IndyCar race ended.

INDYCAR AT IMS THIS WEEKEND: Harvest GP schedule, entry lists

IndyCar will be holding its second race weekend this year at the IMS road course Friday and Saturday with the Harvest GP.

“Our first NASCAR-INDYCAR weekend was a big success last July, with positive feedback from
our loyal fans who watched the races on NBC and from the drivers, teams and participants
involved,” IMS president Douglas Boles said in a statement. “The Xfinity Series’ debut on the IMS road course provided exactly the kind of thrilling action from the green to checkered flags that we anticipated, so we know the teams and drivers of the Cup Series will put on a great show as they turn left and right for the first time at IMS.

“We can’t wait to welcome back fans to see NASCAR and INDYCAR together during this
exciting weekend as we add another memorable chapter in the long, storied history of the
Indianapolis Motor Speedway.”

It also will mark the first NASCAR Cup-IndyCar doubleheader with a crowd as fans weren’t permitted at IMS in July because of the novel coronvavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

Over the course of Wednesday, NASCAR is releasing its 36-race slate for next season. IndyCar has yet to release its full 2021 schedule.