Chris Jones / IndyCar

INDYCAR: Colton Herta leads second practice at Texas

Leave a comment

Harding Steinbrenner Racing’s Colton Herta was fastest in this afternoon’s practice session for the DXC Technology 600 at Texas Motor Speedway, turning a lap of 222.451 mph around the 1.5-mile high-banked oval in Fort Worth.

Herta’s top lap was aided by a tow from another car. It was nearly a second and a half faster than those of any other competitor.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan’s Takuma Sato was second-fastest in today’s session (220.974 mph). He was also second-fastest in last night’s opening practice.

Following Sato were Alexander Rossi in third (220.734 mph), Will Power in fourth (220.412 mph), and rookie Marcus Ericsson in fifth (220.336 mph). Defending Texas race winner Scott Dixon (219.976 mph) was sixth.

Notable drivers further down the time sheet included NTT IndyCar Series championship leader Josef Newgarden in ninth (219.622 mph), Indianapolis 500 champion Simon Pagenaud in 13th (218.912 mph), and rookie Felix Rosenqvist in 20th (217.557 mph).

Qualifying for the DXC Technology 600 airs live at 6:30 p.m. ET this evening on NBCSN and NBC Sports Gold.

Click here for full practice results

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter 

Keating stripped of Le Mans GTE-Am win; No. 68 Ganassi entry also disqualified


FIA stewards announced Monday that two Ford GT entries have been disqualified from this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans, including the GTE-Am class-winning No. 85 entry from privateer Keating Motorsports.

Also DQ’d was the factory No. 68 Chip Ganassi Racing entry of Joey Hand, Dirk Mueller and Sebastien Bourdais, which initially finished fourth in the GTE-Pro class.

Both entries were found in violation of fuel capacity regulations, with the No. 85 entry also failing to meet the minimum refueling time during pit stops.

The refueling system on the No. 85 entry, driven by Ben Keating, Jeroen Bleekemolen and Felipe Fraga, measured a time of 44.4 seconds during a stop, just shy of the minimum required time of 45 seconds.

As a result, the team was initially issued a 55.2-second post-race penalty by officials, which elevated the No. 56 Team Project 1 Porsche 911 RSR of Joerg Bergmeister, Patrick Lindsey, and Egidio Perfetti to the class win.

The time penalty was calculated by the difference in the refueling time (0.6 seconds) multiplied by the amount of pit stops made by the team (23), then multiplied by four.

The No. 85 entry was set to finish second in class, but then received an outright DQ after its fuel capacity was also revealed to be 0.1 liters above the maximum permitted capacity of 96 liters.

As for Ganassi’s No. 68 entry, it was found to have a fuel capacity of 97.83 liters, which is above the maximum allowed capacity of 97 liters for the GTE-Pro Fords.

The No. 67 Ford of Andy Priaulx, Harry Tincknell, and Jonathan Bomarito subsequently moves up to fourth, and the No. 69 Ford of Scott Dixon, Ryan Briscoe and Richard Westbrook moves up to fifth.

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter