Matt Fraver / IndyCar

INDYCAR: Colton Herta fastest in second practice at Mid-Ohio

Leave a comment

Colton Herta was fastest in the second and final practice session of the afternoon for the NTT IndyCar Series at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, with an elapsed time of 1 minute, 5.7292 seconds around the 13-Turn, 2.258-mile road course.

Herta led Simon Pageanaud by 0.2021 seconds. Pagenaud’s teammate Will Power ended the session third-fastest with a lap of 1 minute, 5.9935 seconds.

Felix Rosenqvist (1 minute, 6.0218 seconds) ended the session fourth-fastest, while Ryan Hunter-Reay rounded out the top five with an elapsed time of 1 minute, 6.0286 seconds.

Series points leader Josef Newgarden would bring out the lone red flag of the session when his No. 2 Team Penske Chevrolet went off-course in Turn 9, hitting the tire barrier. Newgarden was fine but his car suffered rear wing damage.

The NTT IndyCar Series will hit the track once again tomorrow morning, with the third practice session of the weekend at 10:30 a.m. ET on NBC Sports Gold, followed by qualifications, which will air live on NBCSN at 2:30 p.m. ET.

Click here for full practice results

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter 

IndyCar entry lists for Harvest GP at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

IndyCar entry lists Indianapolis
Chris Graythen/Getty Images
Leave a comment

There are 25 drivers on the NTT IndyCar Series entry lists at Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course with a few new yet familiar faces for the Oct. 2-3 race weekend.

Four-time champion Sebastien Bourdais will make his season debut in the No. 14 Dallara-Chevrolet (shifting Dalton Kellett to the No. 41) with AJ Foyt Racing, which he is joining full time next season. James Hinchcliffe, who had run three races with Andretti Autosport, will return in place of Zach Veach in the No. 26 Dallara-Honda. Helio Castroneves will drive Arrow McLaren SP’s No. 7 Dallara-Chevy for Oliver Askew, who is out with concussion-like symptoms.

Sage Karam, who has two IndyCar starts this year at IMS (the road course on July 4 and the Indy 500 on Aug. 23), also will return to the series in Dreyer & Reinbold’s No. 24 Dallara-Chevrolet.


Friday and Saturday of the Harvest GP presented by GMR will mark the second and third races this season on Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course. While the July 4 race on the circuit was 80 laps, Friday’s distance is 85 laps, and Saturday will be a 75-lap event.

Championship leader Scott Dixon led 26 of 80 laps to win the July 4 race at the IMS road course. With three races remaining in the series, the five-time series champion enters with a 72-point lead on Josef Newgarden.

Click here to see who’s on the IndyCar entry lists in Race 1 and in Race 2 for the Harvest GP presented by GMR at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.



IndyCar NTT Series practice: 2:25-3:40 p.m., NBC Sports Gold

IndyCar qualifying, Race 1: 6:20 p.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 1: 3:30 p.m. (green flag, 5 p.m.), USA Network, NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar qualifying: 10:20 a.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold

—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 2: 2:30 p.m (green flag, 2:31 p.m.)., NBC, NBC Sports Gold