McLaren making 2020 return to full-time IndyCar racing


McLaren will return to full-time IndyCar competition next season for the first time since 1979 in a partnership with existing team Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports.

The new venture will be renamed Arrow McLaren Racing SP and rely on Arrow SPM’s current infrastructure. McLaren will be responsible for technical expertise, commercial experience and marketing. It will be a two-car team but switch next season to Chevrolet.

The team currently fields cars for James Hinchcliffe and Marcus Ericsson, but Hinchcliffe is a longtime Honda ambassador and star of ads for the automaker in North America.

Arrow Electronics will remain the team’s title partner and team co-founders Sam Schmidt and Ric Peterson will continue in their current leadership roles. Gil de Ferran, the sporting director for McLaren Racing, will lead the IndyCar effort.

McLaren is coming off a spectacular embarrassment in which it failed to qualify for the Indianapolis 500 in May with celebrated two-time Formula One champion Fernando Alonso.

Felix Rosenqvist leads practice 3 at Laguna Seca; Newgarden second fastest

Stephen King/IndyCar
Leave a comment

MONTEREY, Calif – Felix Rosenqvist was the fastest driver in the third practice session for the IndyCar season finale at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca Saturday morning, posting a lap 1 minute, 11.7732 seconds around the 11-turn, 2.238-mile road course.

Current series points leader Josef Newgarden finished the session second fastest, 0.1823 seconds behind, with teammates Will Power and Simon Pagenaud ending the session third and fourth fastest.

Takuma Sato, who was recently announced as returning to Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing next season, rounded out the top five.

All of the four championship contenders ended the session within the top 10, with Scott Dixon and Alexander Rossi finishing eighth and tenth, respectfully.

Click here for full practice results

Live coverage of qualifying for the Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey is at 4:30 p.m. on NBCSN and NBC Sports Gold and race coverage begins Sunday at 2:30 p.m. ET on NBC.

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter