Today’s IndyCar race at Laguna Seca: Start time, lineup and more

Leave a comment

MONTEREY, Calif. — The 2019 NTT IndyCar series champion will be crowned today at Laguna Seca Raceway, which will play host to the series for the first time since holding a Champ Car race in 2004.

Josef Newgarden will take a 41-point lead into the race over Alexander Rossi; Simon Pagenaud and Scott Dixon also are in championship contention. The race will be worth double points.

This is the 23rd Indy car race at Laguna Seca Raceway, and the ninth time that that title will be decided at the track. CART held its season finale here from 1989-96.

Here’s the pertinent information for the season finale of the 17-race schedule:

(All times are Eastern)

TV/START: Coverage begins at 2:30 p.m. on NBC; green flag at around 3:25 p.m.

PRERACE: Driver introductions begin at 2:30 p.m. The command to start engines will be given at 3:18 p.m.

DISTANCE: The race is 90 laps (203.22 miles) around the 11-turn, 2.238-mile road course

FORECAST: forecasts sunny skies with a high of 68 degrees and a 1 percent chance of rain at the start of the race.

CHAMPIONSHIP STATS: This is the 14th consecutive season that the champion will be determined in the season finale. … The winning driver at Laguna Seca also has won the championship six times: Bobby Rahal (1986, ’87), Danny Sullivan (’88), Michael Andretti (’91), Alex Zanardi (’98) and Cristiano da Matta (2002).

PUSH TO PASS: Drivers will have 150 seconds of total time with a maximum of 15 seconds per activation.

TIRE ALLOTMENT: Seven sets primary, four sets alternate. Teams must use one set of primary and one set of alternate tires during the race.

LAST TIME: Patrick Carpentier won the Sept. 12, 2004 race, leading 40 of 79 laps and beating Bruno Junqueira by 5.395 seconds. Oriol Servia finished third.

WATCH ONLINE: Click here for the NBC broadcast

STARTING LINEUP: Click here for the starting lineup and tire designations.

Click here for the results from qualifying.

Dutch Grand Prix becomes fourth Formula 1 race canceled this season

EM VAN DER WAL/ANP/AFP via Getty Images
Leave a comment

ZANDVOORT, Netherlands — The Dutch Grand Prix became the fourth Formula One race canceled this season because of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, after organizers decided Thursday they didn’t want to play host to an event without spectators.

It was to be the first Dutch GP since 1985, but F1 wants to start the season with no spectators at races.

“We would like to celebrate this moment, the return of Formula 1 in Zandvoort, together with our racing fans in the Netherlands,” race director Jan Lammers said in a statement. “We ask everyone to be patient. I had to look forward to it for 35 years, so I can wait another year.”

The race in Zandvoort was set for May 3 and initially postponed. Fans who bought tickets can use them next year.

The coastal circuit has been redesigned, with some corners banked to facilitate faster racing.

The other races canceled this year were the season-opening Australian GP on March 15; the Monaco GP on May 24; and the French GP on June 28.

Another six have been postponed.

F1 organizers still hope to reschedule those and hold 15 to 18 races this season, starting in July with back-to-back races at the Austrian GP.