2020 Indy Lights preview: Team capsules, schedule, streaming info

Indy Lights

The 2020 Indy Lights season kicks off with a doubleheader on the streets of St. Petersburg this weekend, and plenty of new faces and a few familiar ones are ready to take on the top rung of the Road to Indy Ladder.

There is plenty of incentive for each Indy Lights competitor to make a run for the title. Whichever driver wins the championship will receive a $1 million scholarship to race in a minimum of three NTT IndyCar Series events next season, including the Indianapolis 500.

Past Indy Lights champions to move up to IndyCar include Tony Kanaan, Scott Dixon, Pato O’Ward, Oliver Askew and 2019 NTT IndyCar Series Champion Josef Newgarden.

All Indy Lights races will be broadcast live exclusively as part of NBC Sports Gold’s INDYCAR PASS streaming service.

The pass will provide more than 200 hours of programming in 2020, including more than 50 hours surrounding the Indianapolis 500. Available for $54.99 annually, the pass also offers live coverage of all IndyCar practice and qualifying sessions and full replays of all NTT IndyCar Series races. Click here for more information on NBC Sports Gold’s INDYCAR PASS.

Below is a look at the current lineups for all teams competing in Indy Lights this season:

Andretti Autosport

The team seeks its third consecutive championship, having previously won the championship in 2019 (Askew) and ’18 (O’Ward).

Robert Megennis joins the team for the second season in a row. The 20-year-old won his first Indy Lights race at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course last year.

Joining Megennis are Danial Frost and Kyle Kirkwood, who move up to Lights after competing in Indy Pro 2000 last year. Kirkwood won nine races with RP Motorsport Racing last season en route to the Indy Pro 2000 championship.

Tristan Carpenter also will race for Andretti for the first six races of the season. Carpenter will run both races of this weekend’s doubleheader at St. Petersburg, as well as at Barber Motorsports Park and the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.

Belardi Auto Racing

Toby Sowery joins Belardi for his sophomore season, having previously finished third in the standings and picking up his first Lights victory at Portland last year.

Rasmus Lindh moves up to Indy Lights for 2020 after winning three races with Juncos Racing in Indy Pro 2000.

Exclusive Autosport

The 2020 Indy Lights season marks the first for Saskatoon, Saskatchewan-based Exclusive Autosport, which brings driver Nikita Lastochkin up to Lights with them.  At 29, the Russian driver is the oldest of the 10 entered in the season opener. Lastochkin finished sixth overall in the 2019 Indy Pro 2000 standings.

HMD Motorsports

HMD’s 2020 lineup is the most experienced of the four full-time teams in Lights this season. David Malukas returns to the team for his sophomore season after finishing sixth overall in the 2019 standings.

Santiago Urrutia also returns to Indy Lights competition after racing in Europe in 2019. The 23-year-old Uruguayan driver aims for his first Lights championship after finishing second overall in 2016 and 2017, and third overall in 2018.

Rookie Antonio Serravalle, 17, also is scheduled to run at least the first nine races of 2020. The Canadian driver, who made his Road to Indy debut in Pro Mazda in 2018, hopes to complete the full season pending current sponsorship negotiations.

2020 Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires Schedule

March 14/15 Streets of St. Petersburg 1.8-mile street course*
April 4/5 Barber Motorsports Park 2.3-mile road course*
May 8/9 Indianapolis Motor Speedway 2.439-mile road course*
May 22 Indianapolis Motor Speedway 2.5-mile oval
June 20/21 Road America 4.014-mile road course*
July 11/12 Streets of Toronto 1.786-mile street course*
August 15/16 Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course 2.258-mile road course*
August 22 World Wide Technology Raceway at Gateway 1.25-mile oval
September 5/6 Portland International Raceway 1.967-mile road course*
September 19/20 WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca 2.238-mile road course*

*Doubleheader weekend

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter 

Santino Ferrucci will drive No. 14 for AJ Foyt Racing full time in 2023 IndyCar season

Santino Ferrucci AJ Foyt
James Gilbert/Getty Images

Santino Ferrucci will return to full-time racing in the NTT IndyCar Series next season, joining AJ Foyt Racing.

Ferrucci had made eight IndyCar starts with three teams since his last full-time season in 2020 while also racing part time in the NASCAR Xfinity Series this year.

He will drive the storied No. 14 Dallara-Chevrolet for four-time Indy 500 winner A.J. Foyt’s team, which will field the car from its Waller, Texas headquarters.

“It’s incredibly exciting to be back in the INDYCAR Series full time,” Ferrucci said in a team release. “Being a part-time driver over the last two years has been hard for me, personally. I’m a race car driver, and I want to compete. Working with different teams has been exciting, and I’m proud that no matter which car I’ve raced, I’ve always shown speed and consistency. I couldn’t be more excited to join AJ Foyt Racing in the 14 Chevy. I can’t wait to make the best of it.”

Ferrucci, 24, had finished a career-best fourth in IndyCar four times, including the 104th Indy 500 in 2020. He was the 2019 Indy 500 rookie of the year with a sixth.

In nine Xfinity starts since 2021, Ferrucci has a career-best finish of 13th at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

“I am thrilled to welcome Santino to the team,” Larry Foyt said in a release. “He’s shown a knack for getting toward the front of the field, and I think he is a racer who moves forward on race day. A.J. sees the fire in him and has enjoyed their meetings together. I think Santino’s experience will help his rookie teammate as well, so he is a great addition to our roster.”

Ferrucci will be teamed at AJ Foyt Racing with Benjamin Pedersen, who finished fifth in the 2022 Indy Lights standings. The team has yet to specify the number for Pedersen’s entry, which will be fielded out of its Indianapolis race shop.

Foyt’s two full-time drivers last season were Dalton Kellett and Kyle Kirkwood, who is moving to Andretti Autosport.