Brian Cleary/Getty Images

IMSA releases entry list for iRacing Pro Series event at Laguna Seca

Leave a comment

The IMSA iRacing Pro Series will returns Thursday at 6 p.m. ET with Round 2 at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca.

The 50-driver field will consist of pro drivers who have competed in the WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, Michelin Pilot Challenge, Protoype Challenge and Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge.

The 90-minute virtual race will be available on iRacing’s YouTube channel and Facebook page as well as driver Twitch channels.

ENTRY LIST: Click here for the Laguna Seca field

Among drivers in the field:

–Colton Herta, who won the IndyCar finale at Laguna Seca last year;

–NBC analysts A.J. Allmendinger and Townsend Bell;

–IMSA veterans Filipe Albuquerque, Laurens Vanthoor, Jack Hawksworth;

–Past real-life IMSA winners at Laguna Seca include: John Edwards and Connor De Phillippi (GLTM, 2017-18); Porsche winners Jeroen Bleekemolen, Nick Tandy, Patrick Long; Colin Braun; Alessandro Balzan; Richard Westbrook.

Click here for the entry list for Thursday’s race at Laguna Seca.

Drivers will have a choice of four GTLM cars in each IMSA iRacing Pro Series race: the BMW M8, Porsche 911 RSR, Ferrari 488 and Ford GT.

The series opened with the March 21 race at Sebring International Raceway that featured a podium sweep by BMW. Winner Bruno Spengler, runner-up Nicky Catsburg and Jesse Krohn all have returned for Laguna Seca.

According to IMSA, the race at virtual Laguna Seca will feature drivers from 15 countries spanning four continents.

After Laguna Seca, the series will hold four more races:

April 30 – Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course

May 14 – IMSA venue to be determined

May 28 – IMSA venue to be determined

June 11 – Watkins Glen International

Zach Veach splits with Andretti Autosport for rest of IndyCar season

Gregory Shamus/Getty Images
1 Comment

Zach Veach will be leaving his Andretti Autosport ride with three races remaining in the season, choosing to explore options after the decision was made he wouldn’t return for 2021.

In a Wednesday release, Andretti Autosport said a replacement driver for the No. 26 Dallara-Honda would be named in the coming days. The NTT IndyCar Series will race Oct. 2-3 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course and then conclude the season Oct. 25 on the streets of St. Petersburg, Florida.

Veach was ranked 11th in the points standings through 11 races of his third season with Andretti. Since a fourth in the June 6 season opener at Texas Motor Speedway, he hadn’t finished higher than 14th.

“The decision was made that I will not be returning in 2021 with Andretti Autosport in the No. 26 Gainbridge car,” Veach said in the Andretti release. “This, along with knowing that limited testing exists for teams due to COVID, have led me to the decision to step out of the car for the remainder of the 2020 IndyCar season. I am doing this to allow the team to have time with other drivers as they prepare for 2021, and so that I can also explore my own 2021 options.

“This is the hardest decision I have ever made, but to me, racing is about family, and it is my belief that you take care of your family. Andretti Autosport is my family and I feel this is what is best to help us all reach the next step. I will forever be grateful to Michael and the team for all of their support over the years. I would not be where I am today if it wasn’t for a relationship that started many years ago with Road to Indy. I will also be forever grateful to Dan Towriss for his friendship and for the opportunity he and Gainbridge have given me.

“My love for this sport and the people involved is unmeasurable, and I look forward to continuing to be amongst the racing world and fans in 2021.”

Said team owner Michael Andretti: “We first welcomed Zach to the Andretti team back in his USF2000 days and have enjoyed watching him grow and evolve as a racer, and a person. His decision to allow us to use the last few races to explore our 2021 options shows the measure of his character.

“Zach has always placed team and family first, and we’re very happy to have had him as part of ours for so many years. We wish him the best in whatever 2021 may bring and will always consider him a friend.”

Andretti fields five full-time cars for Veach, Alexander Rossi, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti and Colton Herta.

It also has fielded James Hinchcliffe in three races this season.