WATCH: Filmmaker captures surreal scenes of empty Long Beach circuit


The streets of Long Beach were supposed to be filled with the roar of race engines last Sunday.

Instead, they were filled with the sound of silence for the first time in nearly 50 years.

With large gatherings prohibited worldwide because of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, the 46th edition of the Grand Prix of Long Beach could not go on.

While the cars and drivers of the NTT IndyCar Series never arrived for the popular street race, much of the temporary fencing, grandstands and tire barriers already had been constructed since late February.

Area filmmaker Adrian Hernandez was able to capture drone footage of the empty track before it was taken down, compiling it all together in his short film, A Silent Year.

Flying over the empty course, and without a single human in sight, Hernandez beautifully captured the surreal experience of the desolate track surrounded by condos and the waterfront.

Click the video at the top of the post to watch the full film.

The Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach was canceled more than a month ago, but the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg remains a TBA on the IndyCar schedule.

While Long Beach’s course has been disassembled, St. Petersburg has left some of its grandstands up in hopes of securing a date in the fall as the 2020 season finale.

Courtesy of St. Petersburg resident Kris Hansel, here are some recent photos from sections of that race’s layout.

(Photo: Kris Hansel)


(Photo: Kris Hansel)


(Photo: Kris Hansel)


X44 Racing win 2022 Extreme E championship as Abt Cupra score first race victory

2022 Extreme E Uruguay
Extreme E

Abt Cupra Racing’s Nasser Al-Attiyah and Klara Andersson scored their first win in the Extreme E Energy X Prix in the 2022 finale in Uruguay as Lewis Hamilton’s X44 Vida Carbon Racing drivers Sebastien Loeb and Cristina Gutierrez survived a chaotic finale to edge the 2021 champion Rosberg X Prix team of Johan Kristoffersson and Mikhaela Ahlin-Kottulinsky, by two points.

“There are so many emotions,” Andersson said in Extreme E’s coverage. “I’ve been waiting for this for so long. In my second race, first full weekend to be at the top of the podium: it’s big.”

Andersson was behind the wheel at the finish.

Rosberg Racing entered the event with a 17-point advantage over X44, but the standings were close enough that four teams remained in contention in Round 5.

“It’s a crucial weekend for us,” Loeb said in Extreme E’s coverage prior to the race. “We are not in the best position to win the championship, but the only thing we can do is try to win the race and score as many points as possible.”

The top two title contenders each crashed in qualification and were relegated to the Crazy Race, Extreme E’s version of the Last Chance Qualifier (LCQ). For the moment, they had the steepest hill to climb, but then the other two championship contending teams, Chip Ganassi Racing and Acciona Sainz Racing failed to advance from their heats.

Only one team advances from the Crazy Race, so the X44 drivers were in a must-win situation to simply keep hope alive.

More: Extreme E 2023 schedule

Ahlin-Kottulinsky and Gutierrez ran wheel to wheel into the first turn at the start of the LCQ.

The Rosberg racer experienced crash damage in that turn that damaged her front steering, but managed to limp back to the pits at the end of her two-lap stint. The team attempted to fix the steering, but incurred a penalty for having too many mechanics in the pit area.

Meanwhile, Gutierrez took the early lead, but knew she would need to sit through a five-second penalty for an incident earlier in the weekend. The female half of the gender equal pair erased the penalty by entering the Switch Zone with a five-second lead before turning the car over to Loeb.

That was all the nine-time World Rally Championship titlist needed to give him the advantage needed to win the Crazy Race.

But the championship was not over yet. X44 Racing needed to finish third or better in the five-car finale to earn enough points for the title and after advancing from the LCQ, they were forced to take the worst grid position.

A chaotic start to the Finale saw Loeb run as high the lead and low as fourth after getting pushed off course during his first lap. And that is how he entered to Switch Zone.

On her first lap, Gutierrez slammed into Molly Taylor. With one lap remaining, X44 and Gutierrez were still in fourth and the title hope was quickly evaporating, but it was announced halfway through the lap that the third-running Andretti United team would suffer a penalty for a Switch Zone infraction. The seven-second deduction for Timmy Hansen braking too late in the zone made the difference in the title.

Coming off a disappointing Copper X Prix when Tanner Foust and Emma Gilmour crossed under the checkers first, but were relegated to fifth by penalty, the McLaren pair scored their first podium of the season in second.